My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Wednesday December 6, 2006 December 6, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 5:38 pm

There are words in my vocabularly now that I would have never used let alone expected to hear at playtime when I was growing up.  I was a tomboy.  I hated dresses.  I lived in jeans.  I climbed trees.  My basketball or a pad of paper were my favorite toys.  I would run and jump and play with the boys.  I can’t begin to count the number of pair of glasses I broke growing up because of sports or just general rough-housing.  I *thought* I knew what it was like to be a boy because I broke every mold that girls came from.  Which I’m sure was a constant struggle for my mother, who only had three girls.

However, the longer I’m a mom of THREE boys, the more I realize that I had no idea growing up.  My four year old is currently running around talking about doing a quarterback sneak.  Unless there is a video game controller in their hands, they are never sitting still.  They run *everywhere* (so does Kait though so maybe that’s just a kid thing).  It makes me tired just watching them.  If it has wheels or bounces or you can throw it, my boys have it or want it.  If you can fix something with it or better yet, break something with it, it’s at the top of their wish list.  As much as I tried to hold off not buying them toy guns, I realized the futility of it all about the time Elijah turned 4 and began making them out of his Legos.  If you can hold it in your hand, it’s a gun.  Or a lightsabre.  Or a knife.  Or some new version of all three of those things put together.  (The other day, Noah had a blaster that shot out lightsabers.  He thought that was the ultimate in cool even though it only existed in his 4 year old mind).

Boys really are a different breed.  Kait is content to sit and do “art projects” for hours on end.  She can play with her baby dolls or her dollhouse and do things that require sitting still.  Not my boys.  They are constantly on the go and I’m having to remind them hourly to not run in the house, or throw a ball in the living room, or slide across the carpet on their knees or put some clothes on (what is it with boys and being naked?  That is NOT something they get from their dad either) or to not jump on the couch or over each other or tackle each other.  I have a feeling it’s going to be a L-O-N-G winter!

What American accent do you have?

Your Result: The Inland North

You may think you speak “Standard English straight out of the dictionary” but when you step away from the Great Lakes you get asked annoying questions like “Are you from Wisconsin?” or “Are you from Chicago?” Chances are you call carbonated drinks “pop.”

The Midland
The Northeast
Philadelphia
The South
The West
Boston
North Central
What American accent do you have?
Quiz Created on GoToQuiz

 

However, I do NOT, nor will I ever, use the word pop.  It’s SODA!  But I will continue to use the word “bubbler” while the rest of y’all say drinking fountain!  I’m from that area right between Milwaukee and Chicago that really should just be a state of it’s own.

 

3 Responses to “Wednesday December 6, 2006”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    *ahem*

    pop…always has been and always will be!

  2. Anonymous Says:

    “bubbler”?  That’s new to me.  Growing up in the shadow of white-bread Washington DC I have no interesting regional accent or vocabulary at all.  I swear the rednecks I grew up with just affected their southern accents to prove they were Virginians and NOT Washington DC suburbanites, lol!

  3. Anonymous Says:

    Let me second that *ahem*

    Pop it is. 😉


Leave a Reply

