My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Monday December 11, 2006 December 11, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 5:57 pm

Chip had an excellent post on the topic today.

Why is it that satellite and cable companies can’t hook up your DVD player or your VCR player to your dish receiever?  They could pay extra for it if they wanted and I’m sure people would be more than willing to pay for it!  I went to help out someone from our church today who I know has been trying to figure it out for more than a week.  It took me almost 20 minutes of searching through the book that came with the satellite dish only to realize it was going to be no help at all.  I finally found a small picture that triggered a memory of when we set our own up (which is way more complicated with 4 things added into it) and once I realized what needed to be done, it only took me about 2 minutes.  I say the satellite/cable companies should charge an extra $20 and just do it for you.  Even if it had taken me the whole 20 minutes to hook things up, that’s still $1 a MINUTE!  And worth every cent if you don’t know how to do it yourself.  Maybe I should start my own business that will go in and figure everything out once the installer is gone?

 

2 Responses to “Monday December 11, 2006”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I worked for a cable installation company and just thought I’d let you know the reason that they don’t hook those things up.  It’s because anything they mess with, if it has any problems or ends up being broken then the customers want to hold them accountable (even if it was broken before the tech ever got there).  So, they just don’t take the chance, it’s just not worth it.  I’m not saying it’s right, but you would be amazed at the things we ended up having to replace/repair – even when it wasn’t our fault.  You may have a good business idea for yourself or someone else though!!! (Just be careful – LOL)

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Go for it! Use that picture of yourself as an elf!

    I enjoyed Chip’s blog entry, very well said. Then, I scrolled down to read more. I got a kick out of the manger scene one. Oh my. I needed a good laugh!!!


Leave a Reply

