My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Wednesday December 13, 2006 December 13, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 11:37 pm

My older two kids are actually in two pagents this year.  They attend another church in town on Wednesday nights and they had their program tonight.  Like most kids performances, it was not without comedy that was totally unplanned.  I think the only way a director can deal with kids is to plan for the unplanned.  Like tonight when one little boy decided to hide behind a low wall and reach over and around it to play with the microphone stand.  You could just see his little hands popping over the wall and trying to reach for it.  The lady directing didn’t miss a beat though.  The house almost came down when he stood up and announced “I was hiding!” though!

My kids didn’t have a speaking part in this production, but they sang with everyone else.  Kait was smiling and Seth could not for the life of him figure out why he couldn’t go up and sit by his sister and her friends (she was sitting between the two kids who live next door).  He kept waving and smiling and saying “Kati” under his breath.  Poor little guy did ok bouncing between me and Gramma until the very last song when he just lost it.  I’m sure he probably would have done just fine.  I mean he “practiced” all the songs with them every day and danced along – not that they danced.  I’m sure if I’d have let him go he would have marched himself right up on the stage and danced along to the music.

I have a feeling I’ll have my hands full on Sunday when the kids do their performance at our own church.  They both have their first speaking parts ever and I’m not sure who is more nervous – them or me!  They’ve practiced hard and we’ll see how it all plays out on Sunday.

 

Leave a Reply

