My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Monday January 1, 2007 January 1, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 3:41 pm

2007 is officially here.  I, for one, am happy to see 2006 come to a close.  If ever there was a reason to celebrate another year successfully concluded, it was 2006.  2006 brought more trials to our little family than the entire first 10 years of our marriage.  But we made it.  God is good and saw us through it all.

With 2007 upon us, I’m able too look ahead to the future with hope.  I know that God has been with us in the past, that He’s with us now and that He will be with us in the future.  I have a feeling that this next year is going to bring about some amazing things for us – as a family and as individuals.  I’m excited to see what God is going to do.

We didn’t do anything spectacular to ring in the new year – we were home with two of the kids (Elijah & Seth) while the other two spent the night with Chip’s parents.  We played some games.  We watched the ball drop.  We watched the fireworks next to the grain elevator that were a few minutes early.  (I told Chip that maybe someone was hoping that the new dryers on the new part of the elevator would explode – those things are LOUD!) We calmed Elijah down since he was almost asleep when those fireworks went off and fireworks a block away from your house next to a huge metal structure echo and are extremely loud.  And by 12:45, we were in bed.  Not quite the party animals we used to be, but it seemed a fitting end to the year for us.  Maybe next year we’ll do something a little more exciting.

Today, we’ve watched the parade, we’ve watched NCAA basketball, we’ve watched football and we’ll eat the traditional Sanders family meal of ham & beans with corn bread and fried potatoes later this afternoon with Chip’s parents (which they all mix together and smother in ketchup – ICK!).  And then I think Noah is going on his very first friend sleepover.  It’s looking to be a great way to start the year!

Happy New Year y’all!

 

2 Responses to “Monday January 1, 2007”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I happened on your site & noticed you visited mine . . . just wanted to say an “official” hi.  (I always enjoy finding others who serve in ministry.) n By the way, I really liked your slide show.  Very cute!

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Well, you did more to ring in the new year then this little family.  We were all up to watch the ball drop at 11pm central in NY and then Chris and Taet went to bed while I stayed up playing compter games and watching the ball drop in NY again at 12pm central.  What is with that.  I tried looking on all the usual news channels to see if anyone was ringing in the new year in the central time, and had to go back to Fox News to repeat the ball falling.  I was very disappointed.  Yesterday was another do nothing day for me, and today I have ideas of getting back on a little more structured schedule to help me get things done starting today.  Be blessed this new year!!!


Leave a Reply

