My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Monday January 8, 2007 January 8, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 7:06 pm

I’ve decided that I’m going to simplify my life some.  Not that I lead a necessarily overwhelming life, but I do find myself doing tasks that just seem meaningless.  I took my first step just before Christmas and it seems to be going fairly well.

I’ve decided I’m no longer going to fold Elijah & Kait’s clothing.  I’m tired of going up to their rooms to look for a certain article of clothing only to find it on the floor or their drawer a complete jumble of a mess and all of the clothes that I took precious care to fold, completely unfolded and maybe not even in the drawer anyway.  I’m just not going to do it anymore.

The crazy thing about it?  My kids LOVE it!  They enjoy folding their own clothes!  How weird is that?  Kait’s still mostly living out of a basket and her clothes still end up a mess.  Elijah still pulls the shirt from the bottom of the pile and unfolds them rest of the ones on top in the process.  But the difference is, I don’t care!  There was no effort put forth on my part to fold them, so I really could care less if they all end up unfolded before they are worn.  It’s a win-win situation (or is this a win-win-win situation for my Office friends?) and everyone is happy!

Kait is feeling better.  She missed her party, but we let the kids have a sleepover of their own in the boys room and they watched a movie before falling asleep.  She was better the next morning and her fever was completely gone.  Our neighbors (and their best friends) had just gone through their round and usually when they get the crud, so do we, or the other way around.  They have friends over right now – the girls are upstairs playing some crazy game that I made up that involved picking up the MILLIONS of beads that were all over the steps, the hallway and Kait’s room.  They’ve got the steps done, we’ll see how quickly the game fizzles out.  The boys are parked in front of the xBox (big shocker) and begging me not to start dinner because that will mean their fun is coming to an end.  Things seem pretty much back to normal around here…

 

Leave a Reply

