My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Saturday January 13, 2007 January 13, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 6:17 pm

It seems like this weekend has lasted forever.  We started a little early since the kids were gone on Thursday and ran most of our errands and such that day without them.  The mall, Target, groceries…  It’s amazing how much you can do in just a couple hours if you are less three of your kids.

Yesterday, we cleaned the kids rooms.  It was an all day affair.  We went through EVERYTHING!  Under the beds, in the closets, behind the dressers, IN the dressers…  Chip even cleaned out the closets in the bathroom (our main closets).  The only room left to do upstairs is our bedroom – which should only take the better part of one morning.  With spring fever, came spring cleaning.  We got rid of TONS of stuff – 3 BIG boxes of toys and 2 big bags of stuffed animals.  We threw out all of the broken toys and the PAPER (my kids love paper for some reason – always writing or cutting or drawing something).

Today has been a Hannah Montana fest in our house.  Kait and I sat and watched 5 episodes while we folded laundry and just had a good time together.  I love being able to sit and giggle with her.  I was trying to explain about how Billy Ray Cyrus was a big “star” back when I was younger, but I don’t think she got it.  I’m pretty sure I lost her when I told her he had a song called “I want my mullet back.”  I wish I could have shared the look of sheer terror she had on her face when I described what a mullet was with y’all.  Afternoons like that are priceless.

Tonight we’re going to have dinner with friends, tomorrow is church and I’m not entirely sure what we’ll do on Monday since that’s a holiday as well (MLK Jr).  It’s been a great weekend and only looks to get better!

 

4 Responses to “Saturday January 13, 2007”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    My daughter and I have had several of those memory making afternoons. They were so fun!!!  We use to laugh together for hours. So how is the weather down your way? Looks like you might have gotten it worse than we did up here in the Cities.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    If I can find a way to ship my kids off for a day or two, you have me inspired.  Way to go.

  3. Anonymous Says:

    My kids love paper, too.  It drives me crazy!  Don’t they realize that all that paper just makes a huge mess!?!?  One time when we were doing a “deep clean” of the girls’ house, they even had rocks wrapped in toilet paper…they were their “babies”!  What’s a matter with the billions of DOLLS they have!?!?!  I feel for you.

  4. Anonymous Says:

    oops…didnt proof read.  We cleaned the girls’ ROOM, not house! 


Leave a Reply

