My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Friday January 19, 2007 January 19, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 6:21 pm

Do y’all know what a DVR is?  It is the device that has ruined America.  Fellow DVR users will be able to relate.  Others will wonder why on earth I’m making it such a big deal.  I’d tell you to get one if you don’t have one, but then you would be added to the growing list of consumers who have been ruined as well.

A DVR is a digital video recorder.  Think TiVo.  It allows you to pause, rewind and playback live TV.  It gives you the ability to record your favorite TV shows as often as you’d like in any number of combinations at any time you would like.  It gives to a chance to stop so you don’t miss any lines of the Office because you’re laughing too hard and can’t see through the tears (did y’all see the look on Jim’s face when Andy punched a whole in the wall on The Office last night?  OH MY GOODNESS!! I love that show!)  You can’t watch television at another persons house anymore because you’ll find yourself looking for the rewind button for their cable.  You find yourself perplexed when you can’t rewind your favorite talk radio show to find out what they just said (this however can be cured by doing a podcast and rewinding the iPod, so maybe it’s not too bad).

But today, I hit a new low.  Maybe lower than low.  I tried to rewind the impossible.  Noah said something funny and I found myself wishing that little children came with a rewind feature.  Or better yet a record feature.  Um, used to be that was called your memory, right?  Anyone else out there know what I’m talking about?

So, I’m ruined.  I warn you now if you’re just starting the addiction.  Get out now, before it’s too late…

 

6 Responses to “Friday January 19, 2007”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Funny. I sometimes find myself wishing for the same thing, but you know, the DVR is the best invention ever….now there is no need to watch those blasted commercials! Yay!!

  2. Anonymous Says:

    I love TiVo … and you’re right have no desire to watch TV anywhere else or even on time. Doing something for 15 minutes at the start of the show and catching up to live by the end is AMAZING!! We watch more tv but in less time. Good stuff.

  3. Anonymous Says:

    The only thing that keeps me from cancelling cable and getting rid of that $100/month bill is that *&$#^ DVR!  I do love being able to rewind LOST to try to figure out what the heck is going on, lol!

  4. Anonymous Says:

    We sure enjoy ours! We record CSI, Grey’s Anatomy and Criminal Minds!

  5. Anonymous Says:

    I love DVR too!  I think it is good, though, because I hate being tied down to the tv at certian times on certian nights.  Now I have the freedom to watch at MY convienence…I have my life back!!!!!  Speaking of that…I was out of town all week and I KNOW I have an episode of American Idol recorded…I better go!

  6. Anonymous Says:

    That would be handy! I’m one of those that hates missing lines, whether it be on t.v. or irl, doesn’t even have to be a noteworthy line.


Leave a Reply

