My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Wednesday January 31, 2007 January 31, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 12:17 pm

I love Target!  And I love their clearance sales!  And I’m loving my day so far today…

I rolled out of bed around 9am.  Chip let me sleep in some.  I still wasn’t quite ready to get up and when I came down the stairs, I was BOMBARDED by my children begging to do school.  That’s correct – my daughter who usually whines that her addition is too hard (but loves subtraction – go figure) and my son who hates to do his reading work – were begging me to get them started on their schoolwork for the day.  At one point, Elijah dropped to his knees to plead with me like his very life depended on it.  It was a truly unique experience.

Then, once they had their schoolwork in hand, they were done with and entire days worth of work in about 90 minutes.  I was skeptical, but it was done.  And done correctly.  And they retained what they had learned.  I know because I quizzed them.  They needed minimal help from me today.  What normally takes 3-4 hours depending on the amount of whining and stalling they do, took a mere 90 minutes today.

Their motivation???  And what does this have to do with Target?  Well, amongst their amazing clearance sales, yesterday we found two new video games for $4.98 a piece.  A spiderman game for the gameboy (which we let them open last night) and a Madagascar game for the xBox (which they couldn’t play until they were done with school).

So, all four of my kids are in front of the xBox right now.  I’m about to go shower in peace – a luxury for me.  I’ve done some general cleaning around the house (and will use that new xBox game as an incentive of my own this afternoon to get the toys in the office cleaned up), sipped my coffee and even eaten a mid-morning snack without someone begging me to share.

New xBox game: $4.98
New Gameboy game: $4.98
A morning of peace when you have four kids: PRICELESS!!!

***************************************************************************

Ok, I spoke a little too soon.  I was on my way into the bathroom for the above mentioned shower when I caught Seth in the kitchen.  We made jello on Sunday because the kids were sick.  And I forgot to lock the refrigerator!

MVC-006S

Sure, he looks innocent enough.  Doesn’t this look just scream, “What did I do?”  That’s the evidence all over his face…

MVC-007S

 

7 Responses to “Wednesday January 31, 2007”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    amen, sister! God bless Target! 🙂

  2. Anonymous Says:

    I love that little face!!!

  3. Anonymous Says:

    I remember having to lock our fridge, that is the benefit to having a freezer on the bottom. They can’t reach anything in the fridge.

  4. Anonymous Says:

    Awww… he is just adorable!  “But Mom… I was hungry!!!’  😉

  5. Anonymous Says:

    What a great memory to look back on in 10 years!!!  Keep that photo closeby!

  6. Anonymous Says:

    Seth is SO cute!  I need to take you to Target with me.  I never find those great deals and I always overspend there. :-/


Leave a Reply

