My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Friday February 9, 2007 February 9, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 12:48 pm

Chip came in to wake me up this morning to tell me he was leaving.  He had to take his mom to Springfield to the dr.  I knew it was coming and I knew he had to leave early, but I also knew that I could hear Seth awake in the other room and that I was VERY tired.  I rolled over and looked at the clock while he brought Seth downstairs and it was only 8:10!!!!  ON A FRIDAY!!!

Fridays are usually our day to sleep in.  It’s the one day of the week that Chip and I usually get up at the same time (or close to it anyway – he’s quicker to get out of bed any day than I am).  We come downstairs and he gets the kids breakfast while I make the coffee.  Then we settle into a morning routine that includes us not really talking to anyone until we’ve been up for an hour.  It’s a good routine.  I like it.  I’m a creature of habit and I don’t like change (how many of you pw’s out there find the irony in that!?).

So, this morning, I come downstairs – WAY early than I had planned.  No one else to get breakfast for the kids. No coffee already made or even anyone else to make it for.  And NO regular coffee – only decaf.  *sigh*

I brewed a pot of decaf (I don’t care what you say, it DOES taste different) and settled in at the computer.  Nope, didn’t work.  The kids want breakfast.  So I hoist myself out of the chair, having not even touched my coffee yet and get them some cinnamon rolls.  They were supposed to be for Sunday morning, but I don’t care.  We can buy more.  The coffee is done so I grab a cup and sit down again.  At least no one bothered me for almost 30 minutes that time and by then it was time to refresh my coffee anyway.

Now it’s almost lunch time.  Thankfully Chip is on his way home.  I’ve got a BLAZING headache because it wasn’t until almost 10:30 that I realized I didn’t have caffeine this morning and by then it was too late.

The good news however is that no matter how much like a Monday it might feel, it is definitely Friday.  We have the rest of the day to spend together as a family and then Elijah & Kait are going on a sleepover tonight at friends’ houses.  And at least after such a yucky morning, I know I’m not going to have to ask Chip twice to take me to Starbucks!

 

One Response to “Friday February 9, 2007”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    The older I get, the more I like routine.  Yikes…that means I am getting old, doesn’t it!?!?!


Leave a Reply

