My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Monday February 26, 2007 February 26, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 11:26 am

I’m a pastor’s wife.  I break all of the molds.  I don’t play piano. I don’t wear dresses and rarely wear skirts. My house is far from pristine. I’m opinionated.

And I’m *not* a very nice person before 8am!  That whole “ready in season and out of season” thing does not apply in my life before the second cup of coffee.  And when I’m sick and someone rings the doorbell at 7:45 in the morning and waked me up and all 4 of the kids, well it’s enough to make me want to throw someone under the bus!

Can someone explain to me why it’s not ok for a telemarketer to call and try to sell you something before 9am, but it’s perfectly ok for the WATER GUY to ring your doorbell TWICE at 7:45am on the day you sleep in? For that fact, what makes it ok for him to walk over to the house when no one is at the church?  I don’t think most offices open before 8am, so why is he even out in his truck that early?  If he wants to make a sale, and finds himself at our church on Monday mornings before anyone is there and this happens every single month, wouldn’t you think he’d get a clue and come on another day or a later time?  I mean C’MON!!!

I told Chip taht when he calls the water selling people to let them know that if it happens again, he’s going to let his wife answer the door.  And that’s not going to be fun for anyone!

 

6 Responses to “Monday February 26, 2007”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    LOL!  I know exactly how you feel.  It was even worse when the twins were little.  Then, I’d have 2 crying babies to deal with!  We had a youth/music minister in AR who would always call very early or very late.  I finally told him that if he called my phone before 9 am or after 9 pm, I would rip his face off!

    I had a friend who posted a note on the door during her “quiet” times and it said something about do not knock or ring door bell between __  and ___ o’clock.

    Praying next month your water guy gets a clue!

  2. Anonymous Says:

    I love that you are boldly who you are.  I hope that you can be boldly you without feeling apologetic about not being whatever your idea of a perfect little pastors wife is.  Your honesty about yourself speaks volumes about God accepting us and using us as we are, not how we think He wishes we were.

  3. Anonymous Says:

    Sheesh, at least if he’s coming that early he could bring you and Chip a Starbucks, I mean, come on!

    I know what you mean about the PW thing, I’m not nearly demur enough!  

  4. Anonymous Says:

    Funny Bek! I will make a mental note to never ever contact you before 9:00 am  ROFL

  5. Anonymous Says:

    LOL AMEN AMEN SISTER!!!!! Hey Pastors and wives are human. I hate it when someone calls me before 9 even if I am up. That is my time to become human. Like drink my coffee wake up drink coffee wake up. I mean come on now!!! Love your post!!!

  6. Anonymous Says:

    Way to break the mold! 


Leave a Reply

