My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Monday March 5, 2007 March 5, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 11:35 am

Now, I’m one who looks for a reason to take Mondays off often when it comes to schooling.  We usually don’t get to school until after lunch simply because on Mondays, everyone has a sluggish morning.  There’s a song from a Brad Paisley song that says, “And a cuss word ’cause it’s Monday” and while I don’t actually cuss, there are times that I feel like it! LOL!  I just *hate* Monday mornings for the most part.

But today, I didn’t have to make up an excuse to not do school.  It’s a state holiday – Casimir Pulaski Day.  I still remember when we first moved to Illinois 8 years ago and I thought surely that Chip must be making it up because I’d never heard of such a thing.  Apparently he was a Polish soldier in the Revolutionary War.  I’m not sure what he’s famous for other than being in the war and being a politician and the fact that he’s polish and I guess really not too many famous people are Polish.  Apparently, he died of a gunshot wound to the groin – it made him lose consciousness and eventually killed him (which I’m thinking most men would agree could probably happen! LOL).

So, we’re taking the day off.  Thank you Casimir Pulaski – for all you did in the American War for Independence and for being Polish so we could have one Monday off every year – for really no good reason at all!  Which to me, is the best reason of all!

 

2 Responses to “Monday March 5, 2007”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    funny…thanks for the explanation. I try to remember to google that every year to find out what the big deal is but I forgot again! LOL My kids still had school though…which is ok, gives me more time to…you know!

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Shoot – too late.   School is in progress.   (sigh)

    I would love to take Mondays off but we’re pushing through to be done with school by Easter.   That’s my goal anyway!


Leave a Reply

