My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Tuesday March 6, 2007 March 6, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 12:26 pm

Like any good war, this one started over money.  Not a lot of money, but “important” money.  Seth (22mo) came casually walking out of the office, with his little fist shoved deeply into Noah’s (almost 5) wallet.  I caught Noah as he launched himself across the room at his baby brother who’s eyes were as wide as a 50″ plasma screen.  Noah came to a careening halt across my arm, close enough to grab the wallet from Seth’s hand before bouncing off my arm and onto the floor.  Better that then him tackling his baby brother at break neck speed.

Looked like a good time for a Bible lesson for the day.  I explained to all the kids (since the older two were witnesses from where they were working on their homework) that while God gives us money and we’re supposed to enjoy the things He blesses us with, when we come to love money enough to hurt others for it, it can become evil.  Money isn’t evil, but the “love of money” can lead to evil – like trying to kill your baby brother.

Noah looked up at me, with those big green eyes of his and said, “But momma, I prayed and that was my money for the offering on Sunday.  I was going to give it to God.”

How do you argue with that?  I’ve met few people who were that passionate about protecting their tithe (myself included) and being sure it went into the offering every week.  I felt God tug at my own heart strings and ask what *I* was that passionate about and what I was going to do about it.  Who was I going to let stand in my way? What was going to keep me from being obedient to what He was asking of me?  A Pogo cartoon says, “I’ve met the enemy and he is us.”  I’m often my own worst enemy when it comes to obedience.  I can rationalize and bargain with the best of them – even with God.  I can talk myself out of doing just about anything and into doing exactly what it is that I want.

And today, I find myself learning from my kids once again.  What am I going to let get into my heart and send me careening into the world with urgency to do the things that God has called me to do?  Who am I going to take with me when I leave this world?  What would happen if instead of talking myself out of doing the simple things God has asked me to do, I were to talk myself into doing bigger and better things for God?  What if…

Maybe the war of the Sanders isn’t so much about my boys warring with one another as it is the fact that I find myself often warring against the things that God is calling me to do.  Things that scare me.  Things that make me uncomfortable. Things that even though I know in my heart are the right thing to do, I still struggle to do them.  I’m warring with myself to check the flesh at the door and do the things God is calling me to.  And today, I find myself struggling with the what if…

 

4 Responses to “Tuesday March 6, 2007”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Isn’t it scary when our kids teach us something? 

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Wow, good thoughts.  All inspired by your sweet sons.  Neato

  3. Anonymous Says:

    WOW.  šŸ™‚  Glad Seth came out unscathed too. šŸ˜€  Thanks for leaving a comment on my site, I’m rethinking the protected thing… still haven’t come to any conclusions yet, but I really appreciated your input!

  4. Anonymous Says:

    I loved reading this post.


Leave a Reply

