My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Saturday March 31, 2007 March 31, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 9:40 pm

No, not for any of us, for our coffeemaker!  Which is almost as tragic.  I can live without a lot of things.  I could even go without a coffeemaker for a few days now that we have a french press.  But when Chip went in to pour himself a cup of coffee yesterday morning and came out and said that the coffeemaker was dead, my mind immediately jumped to the budget and where we could cut this week to purchase a new coffeemaker.

But first, I decided to crack my knuckles and see if I could resuscitate our old one.  This is already our backup coffeemaker.  It’s the one we’ve depended on in a pinch many times.  It’s the one that gets placed gently on the shelf when a new coffeemaker comes into the house and set back for an emergency (or large amounts of company).  It’s like an old friend, a warm blanket, that one thing you can just know will be there for you when you need it.

So, I begged.  I pleaded.  I jiggled the cord and worked it out.  Finally, pushing REALLY hard on the on button, I heard the “click” of the machine turning on.  15 minutes later (which is why we often replace it in the first place – who wants to wait 15 minutes for coffee – unless of course you have no other choice), my coffee was brewed.  I was able to breathe in the sweet aroma as it wafted through the house and drink my beloved coffee.

I’m sure time is short and I’ll cherish these last few days.  I’ve found myself pondering whether this coffeemaker will make it onto the shelf to be pulled out one last time.  But for now, all I can think is “Well done, old friend.  Well done!”

 

Leave a Reply

