My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Wednesday April 11, 2007 April 11, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 11:34 am

Birthday week got off to a big start!  Monday, we celebrated my birthday.  We drove over to Springfield and did the whole Chuck E. Cheese thing (that was more to celebrate Noah’s birthday – which is today).  We met up with Chip’s parents, Granny, his sister-in-law and nephew for a day of pizza and games.  Seth was C-R-A-Z-Y when we were there.  He was running from place to place like he didn’t know what to do first.  Noah had a great time running around with his cousin and playing games.  I helped Seth go through his tokens (he only wanted to play one game – because it kept spitting tickets out at him) and then went and sat with Granny for a while.

I’ve decided that every family should have someone like Chip’s grandmaw.  She has never made me feel like I married into the family.  She treats me like one of her own and really makes me feel like family (Chip’s whole family does for the most part).  It’s always a treat to get and sit and talk to her for a while.  That woman has the biggest and most giving heart of anyone that I know.

After Chucks, we decided to head to the Toys R Us.  We left having looked at everything and purchased nothing.  Then we went to the mall.  We left almost as empty handed.  Elijah & Kait found a game at Gamestop for their gameboy and decided to pool their money to buy it.  Otherwise, we couldn’t find anything we wanted.  From there we drove over to Target.  Seth was soooo tired.  He fell asleep in the car and did not wake up when Chip picked him up to carry him into the store.  I ended up putting my sweatshirt down in the bottom of the cart and Chip just laid him down and he stayed asleep until we were putting him back in the car.  Noah did much better at Target – probably because he knows it well.  He used his birthday money and bought a new tball glove (it’s orange and he *loves* it), a Gameboy game (hot wheels) and a Spiderman ball.  We stopped at DQ for dinner since I wasn’t cooking and then ran into Walmart to get a few necessities and to buy season 2 of The Office for my birthday before heading home.  Chip and I watched a couple episodes before going to bed.

It turned out that I did *not* end up watching the neighbor kids on Tuesday.  Which is good because I was *tired*

Ok, was it just me or was American Idol *BORING* last night?  The only two worth watching were Jordin and Blake.  Anyway, here’s my recap…

Melinda – I was bored.  She can sing anything, but I was bored.  I don’t like this kind of music so that has a lot to do with it.  But when you expect excellence and get it, well, I had stopped paying attention by the end of the song.

Lakisha – same as Melinda.  She sang it well, but I was bored.

Haley – Simon is right in his comment about her clothes.  Sing as well as you can and work that body.  It’s the only thing that’s keeping her in the competition at this point.  And probably the reason that Gina went home last week instead of her.

Chris R – *UGH* He sang well, but someone has got to teach that boy to sing without singing through his nose!  Makes me crazy!  He probably had the best performance set-up though.

Phil – Didn’t like it.  As much as I don’t like his lack of hair, if he’s going to go on and on about how he likes it being bald, then he needs to stop wearing a hat.  If you’re going to do it, commit already.  His vocals were shaky although he did hit the big notes.

Jordin – That girl can SING!  And to work it like she did at only 17 in those heels?  I’d have fallen flat on my face and broken my neck! ROFL!  The best female vocal of the night.

Blake – I expected him to do well in this genre just because it fit with his beat-boxing image.  He delivered and was definitely the best performance of the night.

Sanjaya – what can I say?  He was one of the better performers of the night.  Definitely his best performance.  Wouldn’t it be ironic if, after giving his best performance and actually doing better than some of the others, he went home tonight?

Bottom three predictions – Haley, Phil and Chris.  With Phil finally going home this week.

I’ll be back later with pictures and such of Noah and his very own birthday post…

 

3 Responses to “Wednesday April 11, 2007”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Sounds like fun! I hate it when I go shopping and can’t find a thing to buy. It’s so wrong. = )

    I wish I had someone like how you described Chip’s grandmaw. My own family doesn’t even treat me that way, ha ha. I never got to meet my husband’s mother which makes me so sad because from the way he talks about her, she and I would have got along great.

    Didn’t watch American Idol. Again. I guess I can’t call myself a fan anymore, but I just totally forget that it’s on! Maybe because it’s sooo boring most of the time?

    Can’t wait to see the pictures!

  2. Anonymous Says:

    wow, thats one seriously busy day! Enjoy the rest of your week

  3. Anonymous Says:

    Hey girlie!  It is *so* good to see another pastor’s wife enjoying a good television show like me!  I personally think it’s going to come down to Jordin and Blake…but I could be wrong.  Our whole family loves this show!  It’s a great stress reliever for this pastor’s family…of course, those who don’t live the life of a pastor wouldn’t understand!  Oh well…*we* know it’s important to destress on a regular basis!  😀

    So, who do you think will get the boot next week?  My thoughts, Phil…although…him being a worship leader and a christian makes me feel bad if he *does* go…but it’s a singing competition…oh well.


Leave a Reply

