My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Wednesday April 18, 2007 April 18, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 11:31 am

American Idol was ok last night.  Unlike some people, I really enjoy country music.  And they did fairly well last night.

Phil did a great job last night.  And I was so happy to see he didn’t have that stupid hat on!  You can always tell when a perfomer enjoys the music they are singing and I think Phil will make it as a country star.

Jordin did a phenomonal job.  Like Randy, I find myself marveling at her age.  She’s so young and has such great control over her voice.  Great song choice, great performance!

Sanjaya just needs to go home.  Singing a song by a middle-aged woman just did NOT help things.  He definitely gives us something to talk about, but it’s not a good thing!  Please, America, I beg you – SEND HIM HOME!

Lakisha just seemed off to me.  It was not a good song choice.  She either needed to give it more of a gospel flair or pick a different song.  For someone who was “letting go and letting God” she sure didn’t seem too happy about it.  I don’t think I saw her smile even once.

Chris is another one I want to see GO HOME! I don’t care for Rascal Flatts a whole lot because I think the lead singer is too nasally – which I guess made it a perfect song for him.  But nasally as a way of singing?  GIVE ME A BREAK!  I’m not sure what is the bigger issue – the fact that he sings through his nose or the fact that he does it on purpose!?

Melinda is wonderful.  Chip said it best last night right after her performance when he looked at me and said, “Is there anything she can’t sing?”  I concur wholeheartedly!

Blake did ok with Tim McGraw’s “When the Stars Go Blue.”  I like the song, and love Time, so I was a bit biased against Blake.  But Chip, who had never heard the song before said he did a really good job (and so did the judges).  He’s no Tim, but he did ok.

Bottom three SHOULD be Sanjaya, Chris and Lakisha if you base it on their singing (which I don’t think has even happened yet this season).  Sanjaya SHOULD be the one going home.

*******************************************************************

On a completely different topic, we went for a “short” walk last night.  We walk about a mile when the weather permits and can usually get it done in 30 minutes or so, 20 if the kids actually stay ahead of us.  Last night it took us TWO HOURS!  We ended up stopping to talk with people, let the kid play at the park for a while and I have to admit part of the problem was I was a bit slower than normal since I was all hopped up on allergy meds (Chip cut the grass yesterday).  Our neighbors said they saw us leaving to go on our walk as they were coming home and he was coming outside as we were getting home and couldn’t believe how long we’d been gone.  I’ll tell you, 2 hours of walking and talking and I am *feeling it* today.  The crazy thing?  I’m ready to go and do it all again!  I can’t wait until we take a nice long walk on Thursday night.  (Karen, do y’all want to meet us at the park for a while on Thursday after dinnerish?)  I’m loving that spring is back and sooo very thankful that while things got cold we never got any snow.  I’m ready for summer and sandals and long days outside!

 

One Response to “Wednesday April 18, 2007”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Yeah last night after Chris said that I was wondering when nasally ever became a “style of singing” and I thought he dressed to hip hop for country week.


Leave a Reply

