My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Tuesday April 24, 2007 April 24, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 10:39 am

But apparently that hasn’t affected my readership at all, so I figure that I should post something before it does.

We’ve been busy little bees – cleaning out the house from top to bottom.  Well, actually middle to bottom to top I guess – if you want to be technical.  Last week, I cleaned out all of the clutter from the main floor of our house.  I do a fairly good job of keeping it decluttered, but still had a bunch of stuff to get rid of.  The main room that looks SOOO much better is my kitchen.  The tops of all the cabinets and the refrigerator are cleaned off with only minimal stuff put back on them.  I found a new spot for all of the bulky platters to live and we got rid of the non-working dishwasher that was only used to pile stuff on.  Elijah says our kitchen now looks naked.  I say it looks fabulous!

Then Chip and I spent most of Friday, Saturday and yesterday (Monday) cleaning out the basement.  WOW was that a mess.  I remember when we moved into this house.  People told us that we’d fill it up in no time.  “NO WAY!” we told them.  I prefer to think we were naive than liars!  It’s so easy to just throw stuff you don’t know what to do with into the basement until you can figure out what to do with it.  Do that for a year or two or three and I now know why it’s such a huge deal.  But everything now has a place down there and is in it’s place.  There is some stuff Chip needs to haul off on cleanup day, but otherwise our basement is fairly clean.  Elijah wants us to put a handrail on the steps and fix it up as a play room for them.  It’s actually not a bad idea – it would take some work, but I’m thinking about it.  In the meanwhile, he’s picking out foosball tables. ROFL!

Today I’m going to tackle our bedroom and the clothes closet in the bathroom.  We need to move Kait’s other dresser into the bathroom (it’s in the hall right now – that child has TOO many clothes).  And once I get those couple of things done, my house will be done.  Which will mean I’ll need to fold the MOUNTAIN of clean laundry that has been piling onto the couch all week.  At least it’s all clean I guess.  I’ve got my work cut out for me today.

So, that’s where I’ve been and what I’ll be doing today.  The rest of the week is equally as busy – Chip has a drs appt today, Thursday Elijah will turn TEN (*how* did that happen?), Friday the church rummage sale starts and Saturday we’ve got a leadership building thing we’re taking the leadership team to.  Sunday is Sunday and always busy and blessed.  Monday we’re heading to the St. Louis Zoo to celebrate the boys’ birthdays – Seth can’t wait to see the monkeys (or ah-ah’s as he calls them).  I’ve already told Chip that I think on Tuesday I’ll sleep!

I’ll try to come up with some profound to blog about in the next day or so.  Until then at least y’all have my weekly AI posts to look forward to…

 

2 Responses to “Tuesday April 24, 2007”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Wow, you brave, brave woman! We have a small house so we have to be very careful about throwing things away that we don’t need. Somehow my closet it still crammed full of junk and could use some spring cleaning itself.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Wow, you’re working hard!!  Way to go!   That’s funny too, Isaiah calls monkeys “hee-hees” 😉 


Leave a Reply

