My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Friday May 4, 2007 May 4, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 1:31 am

that the very government who takes 6 weeks to issue a  birth certificate is now asking me for a birth certificate for one of my kiddos in less than two weeks?  Is this really one of those things that people keep on hand all the time?  I never receieved a free copy of it when we had to file – which you would think we would.  So, now that I need a copy, I have to pay $18 to prove that Elijah is my son?  Um, trust me, you don’t have a 9lb 14oz baby without any pain meds and forget about it.  Maybe I should show them my stretch marks to prove it?  And why the rush?  If I were asking the gov’t to do ANYTHING for me, it would take between 6-8 weeks.  That’s just standard.  I’d actually expect them to take much longer, personally.  But now, they need info from me and I have to provide that information within 2 weeks.  Just doesn’t make sense to me.

 

5 Responses to “Friday May 4, 2007”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I hate that, you know if you need something they always take their sweet time but if they need it they want it asap.  When JL was born I never got his birth certificate sent to me so I had to pay $12 to get it.  When Bethany was born I got it right away.  It’s the same with refunds from the government, they take their time but if you owe them money they want it now.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    I don’t know if this will be a comfort to you or not, but we’ve had to order a birth certificate and it really didn’t take very long to get it. hope you can get it quickly. 😉 You ARE RIGHT ABOUT THE GOVERNMENTS UNREASONABLE EXPECTATIONS SOMETIMES. SO FRUSTRATING TO DEAL WITH THEM.

  3. Anonymous Says:

    I don’t understand why you didn’t get a copy of it after he was born, I got them for both of my kids (and they were both free) I thought it was standard to receive them.

    Don’t you just love the government junk? Remember when we moved here and to get an IL drivers lisence I had to have proof of who I was (birth certificate) they couldn’t just use my PA one…? And then I had to prove I lived here (like I would make that up?) and then, I got summoned for jury duty in PA and had to prove I no longer lived there….what a mess.

  4. Anonymous Says:

    Don’t even think about passports…

  5. Anonymous Says:

    We have put out around $50.00 for our birth certificates for our passports recently.  Getting dh’s was a nightmare of incompetence.  Don’t even get me started on the passport agencies!


Leave a Reply

