My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Monday July 23, 2007 July 23, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 2:04 pm

My friend Jodi over at Organized Chaos inspired me to tell about how I first fell in love.  Not with a “fella” but with a whole wide world of literature.  Books have taken me to far off lands and to my own backyard.  I don’t remember many of the books from when I was really little.  I’m sure that I read all of the usuals: Green Eggs and Ham, Dick and Jane, and a myriad of other books.  I really remember more about the books I read by the time I was in second grade: Tales of a 4th Grade Nothing, Ramona Quimbly, and the like.  But there is one book that sticks out from my pre-chapter book days.

It’s a copy of the story of the Pokey Little Puppy that I searched high and low for years for.  My grandmother had a copy of it when I was really little.  I can remember sitting in the hallway, under my grandfathers hospital bed, under the dining room table, upstairs in my aunt’s bedroom and a million other places in that house curled up with that book.  What made it so unusual?  Well, it wasn’t the run of the mill Golden Books copy.  This book was pictures of actual dogs dressed up in clothes and “acting” out the story.  I still remember the day I tried to put a dress on my aunt’s dog, Shadow.  I ended up with a nasty scratch on my arm because putting her in a dress was a lot like trying to get me in a dress at that age (probably about the age of 6 or so).

But my search is over.  About a month or two ago, I was talking to my mom and wondering what ever had happened to that book.  When my grandparents moved out of their house, all of the books when to my aunt for her kids (who were just bitty at that time).  My aunt looked and looked but couldn’t find the book.  But one phone conversation with my mom and the mystery was solved – my MOM has it!  It’s safely waiting for our next trip up to Wisconsin (or her next trip down here) where I will take charge of the book that started it all.  The book that tells the tale of the day I first fell in love…

 

One Response to “Monday July 23, 2007”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Mmmm…..I love books too!  I have spent hundreds of hours (and dollars) rebuilding the library of my youth! 

    Did you ever read “Beautiful Joe?”  My second grade teacher read it to us a chapter at a time during lunch break.  Years later she was the principal at the school my kids went to and she loaned it to me so I could read it to them each morning before school.  Years later I found an old copy in a flea market.  I bought it, drove back to the town where she was still principal and asked her to sign it for me!  That’s my favorite book of all!

    Happy reading…..Q.’


Leave a Reply

