My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Friday September 14, 2007 September 14, 2007

Filed under: food,recipes — Rebekah Sanders @ 4:01 pm

It’s what’s for dinner!  We eat a lot of chicken in our house.  I’m not a huge fan of pork or beef and Chip’s not supposed to have a lot of red meat, so we eat a lot of chicken.  Recently, I found a new family favorite (although I went a little heavy on the spice last time – this time I’ll cut it in half).  Tonight we’re having Spicy Orange Chicken…

Spicy Orange Chicken
6 bonelss skinless chicken breast halves
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 tablespoons all purpose flour
1/2 cup chicken broth
1.5 cups orange juice
1 medium green pepper, chopped (I did NOT use this)
1 medium sweet red pepper, chopped (didn’t use this either)
1 can mandarin oranges
1 cup pineapple chunks
1/3 cup raisins (didn’t use these either – just seems weird)
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon pepper
1/8 to 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes (I used about 1/3 last time – TOO MUCH!)
Hot, cooked rice (optional)

Cook chicken (I cooked it and then cubed it) in oil.  Remove and keep warm.
In small bowl, combine flour and broth until smooth; stir into skillet.  Add orange juice, peppers, oranges, pineapple, raisins, pepper flakes, salt and pepper.  Bring to a boil; cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened.  Return chicken to pan and heat through.  Serve over rice.

My family LOVES this recipe!  And I can’t wait to have it again tonight for dinner!

 

3 Responses to “Friday September 14, 2007”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    mmmmm… that looks yummy!

  2. Anonymous Says:

    MMmm..sounds good! I’m planning on having chicken tomorrow night! Will have to stop back by to pick up the receipe! Thanks for sharing it! (The raisins do seem a bit weird to add!)

  3. Anonymous Says:

    My family enjoyed it!! 🙂 My dh insisted that we put the raisins in — wasn’t to bad! Have a great evening!


Leave a Reply

