My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Tuesday September 18, 2007 September 18, 2007

Filed under: family,shopping — Rebekah Sanders @ 12:55 pm

 My mind is starting to wrap around the holidays.  While Halloween isn’t really significant to us, it is just a couple weeks before Kait’s birthday – which is the kickoff to the busiest time of year for our family.  September is halfway done.  We have a wedding at the end of the month, the kids have a retreat specifically for pastor’s kids the next week, my Gram is fully expecting us to come to Wisconsin sometime in October, November brings Kait’s birthday and Thanksgiving  a week later and then we start the push to Christmas.

Is it any wonder that I start thinking about Christmas in September??

I’ve already gotten a super cool gift for each of the kids (which I can’t post here since my two oldest have recently started reading my blog), but I’m looking for places online to buy some more.  I stumbled upon CouponChief.com which is going to give me super-discount coupons to a lot of the sites that I’m going to be visiting anyway.  (I was really super-excited to find our homeschooling supplier – Alpha Omega Publications – on the list!)

Kait is always in the forefront of my mind.  She’s only going to be 8, but she’s already got an eye for detail.  She asked me yesterday if we could go shopping at Macy’s for her birthday.  She really wants gift certificates for Amazon.com so she can add to her ever increasing library.  Does anyone have any recommendations for Junie B. Jones types of books for her?  Or anything like American Girl?

Elijah’s tastes in gifts are growing more expensive from one year to the next.  I’m keeping my eye on Overstock.com for the latest gadgetry and gizmo’s.  He wants “big toys for big boys” he told me a while back.  Doing my best Charlie Brown imitation – “Oh, brother!”

Noah and Seth are in a place in time where they are happy to be brothers.  I’m in search of toys that are similar and go together.  We’ll be adding to their geotrax and shake & go collections.  And probably get them some coordinating clothes.  Thankfully, most of that can be done at my beloved Target.

And as for shopping for Chip…  Well, I have no idea what I’ll get him.  At least Christmas is still 3 months away!

 

Leave a Reply

