My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

There’s a wocket in my pocket… September 26, 2007

Filed under: family — Rebekah Sanders @ 7:14 pm
Tags: , ,

Ok, maybe not, but there is definitely a MOUSE in my house!

On Monday, we came home from grocery shopping and as we were walking into the kitchen, Noah came running into the room saying, “I SAW A MOUSE!”  We kind of played it off because, after all, he is 5.  A year ago he was afraid of elephants in the garden.  So, we didn’t put too much stock in it.

Today though, he’s rather smug.  We were watching Ellen this morning as I enjoyed a third cup of coffee when Elijah casually turned around and said, “I just saw a mouse.”  It had run less than a foot passed him and he was just sitting their calmly like nothing had happend.

Kait and I – like the girls we are – FREAKED OUT!  When I was cleaning my office a few weeks ago, I found some glue traps and I quickly set Chip to work setting them up.  He had just placed the last trap and was settling back down to work when that little rodent darted out from under the loveseat and ran across the room.  ICK! ICK! ICK!

In ran into the dining room and we lost it.  Not sure where it went – don’t really care!  We are now seriously considering getting a kitten that we can train to be a mouser.  We’ve never had a problem with mice in the house when it was warm out before so I’m worried about what winter will bring.  I do *not* like vermin!

And the worst part?  Chip’s mom called this morning and as I related our adventures, she *laughed* at me! L-A-U-G-H-E-D!!!

I stick to my theory that I’m allowed to freak out.  There is a mouse in my house and I live in a PEOPLE HOUSE!

 

2 Responses to “There’s a wocket in my pocket…”

  1. Jodi Says:

    You live right across from an elevator right? I can’t believe you haven’t had mice before now. LOL

    We buy the poison and put it in places the kids can’t get too. It gets them right away. We had some when we moved in and haven’t had one in the five years since.

  2. Crystal Says:

    lol … we just had one in our house. bacon on an old kind of mouse trap did it … a bloody mess but we’re mouse-free. 🙂


Leave a Reply

