My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

COOL – I made my own ringtone… October 15, 2007

Filed under: blog,entertainment,fun,internet,music,Nifty Stuff — Rebekah Sanders @ 10:33 am

So, I’m feeling pretty proud of myself these days.  Saturday, when I was supposed to be working on church stuff, I was wandering around the internet as I’m prone to distraction.  I came upon a site suggested that it was possible to make your own ringtone and decided to try it.

IT WORKED!

Granted, it took almost 24 hours for the message to be sent to my phone for some reason, but I don’t care.  Not only was I able to edit and upload a ringtone to my phone, I was also able to “fade in” the first few seconds of the song so that my phone doesn’t just start out blaring – which is great since our new phones don’t have a “vibrate THEN ring” feature (they just ring and vibrate at the same time).

So, here’s how I did it:

1.  I found the song I wanted to us.  I backed it up to a seperate place on my hard drive than where iTunes finds it.  Then I pulled it into Audacity (which is free to download) and downloaded the appropriate .dll so I could export mp3 files (you’ll have to put this somewhere permanent on your harddrive and then find it in Audacity – I can talk anyone through that process too – and it will also come in handy for Chip’s sermons).

2. I edited the song down by selecting the 20-30 seconds of the song that I wanted to use for my ringtone.  And I set the “fade in” option from the drop down menu.

3. I then cut and pasted my selection into a new Audacity file so I could save it.  Then I exported it as an mp3 file.

4. Then I emailed (because I don’t have the cord to connect my phone to the computer – which would have been much faster, but you do what you can) the mp3 file to my phone via my pix addy.

 So, no more paying for pricey ringtones (not that I’d done that anyway) or having to settle for the factory presets.  And if you need any help figuring it out, let me know.  I’d be happy to help.

 

3 Responses to “COOL – I made my own ringtone…”

  1. Suzanne Says:

    How about I just give you my songs and my phone number?

  2. Grend Says:

    I use http://www.makeownringtone.com for the same purpose. It’s free.

  3. I am simply surprised! I will take into account. Thanks for the author!


Leave a Reply

