My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Not how I had planned my day… October 26, 2007

Filed under: family,life,news — Rebekah Sanders @ 5:05 pm

Normally I really enjoy Fridays.  School is drawing to a close.  Chip is usually done with his sermon and we get to spend a bit of time together in the afternoons.  Today was extra special because a great friend of ours is being ordained tonight.  It was *supposed* to be great day.

We started out this morning by getting the kids up and dropping them off at Chip’s parents house.  We went to the dr to find out why he’s been dizzy lately.  And why he was coughing again.  His lungs sound ok, but she put him on a steroid to help heal them up.  His dizziness is from an ear infection.  Thankfully it should all be cleared up soon.

We were on our way home when BAM! Hit a car that pulled out in front of us.  As we were coming up to the intersection, we knew have both said we were thinking the same thing.  “Looks like it’s time for lunch at the high school.”  There were tons of cars and two pulled out in front of us which caused Chip to slow down a bit.  We thought it was all ok, and just as we got to the intersection a red car pulled out from behind a truck.  We saw it coming.  There was nothing we could do to avoid it.

I remember thinking, “We are going to hit that car!” as I threw my hands up in front of my face.  I know people who have had their noses broken from the air bag deploying.  I’ve gone over this scenario in my head.  And I also moved away from my door because I knew she was going to hit my side of the car.

I  remember the impact.  I remember going across the field of the Shelby County Electic Co-op and the fact that even though Chip was pushing the break, the van wouldn’t stop. I remember the airbag deploying as I turned my head (apparently not fast enough because I have a scratch on my nose, so something got me). I remember pushing the airbag down and watching us come to a rolling stop in the co-op fence.  I remember Chip saying something about being dizzy and jumping out of the van and running around the van to his door.  I remember the kid who was running across the field to make sure that we were ok. I remember Chip saying his back and knees really hurt and him sitting there stunned. I remember another guy coming up to the van to make sure we were ok and a bunch of the guys from the Co-op coming out to check on us.  I vaguely remember calling and talking with the 911 operator and then calling Chip’s dad to come down.  I remember them loading my husband onto a gurney and putting him in the back of the ambulance and then talking with the tow truck driver.  I remember the ride to the ER with Chip’s dad.  And then I remember them *NOT* letting me back into the ER to see my husband.  I was *LIVID*!  I don’t think Chip’s dad has ever seen me mad like that.  I didn’t say them, but I definitely thought some choice words for that receptionist.  I remember being on the verge of tears and waiting for an ETERNITY for them to let me back – almost 25 minutes.  Which is UNAccEPTABLE in my opinion.  Especially when he told me he was asking for me.  And then when I said, “I was *in* the car with him!” They said, “Oh, well that’s different.  Why didnt’ you tell anyone?”  I DID!!!! I *SOOOO* DID tell someone!

But after a couple hours in the ER, we’re home.  Chip’s banged up pretty bad, but all of his xrays came back negative so nothing is broken.  I haven’t had medical attention (yet), but I’m really starting to feel it.  I figure if I’m still sore on Monday, then I go to the dr in the office.  I don’t do hospitals very well.

It’s a miracle that I wasn’t the one hurt.  The front end of the passenger side of the van is pretty much totaled.  And apparently her car must have flipped around when we hit her because the rear passenger sliding door is all banged in as well.  But there is just a small scratch on the passenger front door – where I was sitting.  And the kids weren’t with us (although three of the carseats were tossed around the van and will need to be replaced).  And it was Chip’s phone that got broken – *not* mine!  (trying to keep my sense of humor.) God is good!

So, we’re home recovering.  The kids were already supposed to go home with Chip’s mom tonight to sleepover because we had something to do tomorrow, so they are still going to do that.  We’re still going to try and make the ordination service if we can.

So not the way I thought today would go.

**************************************************************

Edit – if you look over there —–> there is a picture of the van “resting” in the fence.

 

4 Responses to “Not how I had planned my day…”

  1. Sarah Says:

    Oh my goodness! So glad you guys are all right.

  2. Suzanne Says:

    Glad you’re home and all is well. I’d recommend you getting to a chiropractor ASAP, the sooner the better.

    And *AWESOME* how you put your hands over your face to avoid the airbag, I’ve always thought about that too.

  3. Jada Says:

    I am so glad you are okay.

  4. jillology Says:

    wow, what a day. I’m glad you’re both okay.


Leave a Reply

