My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

All I want for Christmas is… November 8, 2007

Filed under: entertainment,fun,Nifty Stuff,photos — Rebekah Sanders @ 12:18 am

Well, since I already have my two front teeth and the love of my life, I guess what I’m really wanting for Christmas is a new digital camera.  For the past couple years, Chip’s mom has been gracious enough to let us use her Sony Mavica.  It’s a great camera, but it’s huge.  And if I’m going to carry a camera that big, I think I’d rather have something like a Nikon D3.

The truth is, I’m looking for a compact point-and-shoot digital camera that I can carry easily in my pocket or my purse (which is *not* that big).  Right now, I take the majority of my pictures on my phone.  And while I love them, they aren’t the best of quality when the kids move – which they always do.  I’ll bet I erase as many pictures as I keep because of kids who start to run towards the camera as soon as I pull it out because they want to see the pictures.

Anyway, I’m wanting some advice.  Does anyone out there have a camera that they *love*? I want something that not only takes pictures, but videos too. Thinking we’ll probably spend somewhere around the $200 mark for a great camera.  Right now, I’m leaning towards a Canon SD600 (which I hear are better than the  newest model – the SD1000).  I’ve been told to stick to cameras made by camera companies and not by computer companies (although the Sony I’ve been using has been VERY faithful).

 So, any advice before I make the jump?

 

2 Responses to “All I want for Christmas is…”

  1. Tammy Says:

    I have a Nikon Coolpix and I love it. I has enough gadgets to keep me happy, but not so many that I’m overwhelmed. Get as many megapixels as you can for the $$. I got mine off of Ebay, but I watched it for several months before getting one at the price I wanted (around $120). I know others that have more advanced Nikon models & are happy with them as well.

  2. jillology Says:

    I have a Canon Power Shot A550, and I’m very happy with it. It takes short videos, but I haven’t used that feature much yet. I love the photos I get. I was told, when I went to buy this last spring, to go with a Nikon or a Canon


Leave a Reply

