My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

I’m seething… November 15, 2007

Filed under: life,Nifty Stuff,technology — Rebekah Sanders @ 10:13 am

I’m not as green as I should be and this morning it’s costing me!

I’m not one of those people who turn their computers off overnight.  I shut down the monitor, but I let the computer run. This way my computer can run all of the utilities while we are sleeping and not interrupt our use during the day.

This morning, I got up, sat down at the computer with my cup of coffee and realized the computer had rebooted itself in the middle of the night. While that in itself isn’t necessarily a bad thing, I’m not the most patient person when it comes to waiting for everything to open up, but what I found when I logged on was enough to make me want to puke! Or punch the computer or…

Apparently Windows (which ranks right up there with Walmart for me right this minute) updated itself and explorer last night.  And in the process, not only did it reset my home page and add extra toolbars, but it also erased my favorites, my history and who knows what else!

All’s not lost since I added del.icio.us to my regularly used websites so I had someplace online to host my favorites and I use Bloglines to keep track of all the blogs I read, but it’s still going to be a royal pain to get everything reconfigured and set back the way I got it.

Macs are looking better and better every day! Stupid Microsoft!!!

 

4 Responses to “I’m seething…”

  1. Suzanne Says:

    my puter is at least 6 years old and is taking longer and longer to start up each day. We’re looking at an iMac within the next year…if this one lasts that long!

  2. […] Read the rest of this great post here […]

  3. Tammy Says:

    I hate it when their oh-so-helpful updates do that. I feel your pain sistah!

  4. jamielauretta Says:

    don’t be so fast to switch to the Mac- we bought one a couple years ago, and so far we’ve had to send it in to get it fixed 3 times. The last time, it crashed for no reason, just never turned on again, and we lost everything on the hard drive. Photos and all. The Mac people would offer no compensation, refund, changing out, anything for all this hassle.


Leave a Reply

