My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

I’m thankful… November 22, 2007

Filed under: family,holidays,kids,life,marriage,profoundness — Rebekah Sanders @ 8:57 pm

We were driving back from Thanksgiving dinner today and I told Chip, “Sometimes I just love one of the kids or you so much that it literally feels like my heart will BURST if it fills with anymore love!” And I’m not kidding.  I think it’s just my heart stretching and loving more. I *love* this family of mine that God has blessed me with. There is no other person or people on this earth that I would rather spend time with. Period. I thank my God every day that He not only gave me this amazing life to live, but also that He gave me such a wonderful family to love – and that loves me.

Chip, my husband, loves me. I know it. I can tell by the way that he looks at me. Even after 11.5 years of marriage, my heart still skips a beat and I have to catch my breath when he walks into a room. He’s my best friend. The love of my life. My soul-mate. God gave me a small glimpse of heaven and what real community will be like when He put Chip in my life. Because, with this wonderful man of God that I’m married to, I find it easy to put his needs before my own. Each day, I grow in my love for him and in my love for God. And while I know that we’ll get to spend eternity together, I’m so very, very thankful for the opportunity God gave us to know one another in this lifetime as well. Today, my heart swells…

Elijah is growing up before my eyes. He’s such a great big brother. Sure, he has his differences with his siblings from time to time, but just stand back if someone tries to hurt them. Kaitlyn had an altercation (as she often does) with one of Elijah’s friends the other day. I can always count on him to be the voice of reason and I can always count on him to protect his sister when she needs it. I love that he’s always willing to lend a helping hand. Last night I watched him look through the world vision catalog and dream of ways that he could raise money to help others around the world. He teaches me what it means to love my neighbor as myself. And my heart swells more…

Kaitlyn is such a bundle of energy. She lives in the dramatic. It is all or nothing with Kait.  Her dreams aren’t just big, they are HUGE. And she’s learning what it means to put her hope in God and not the things of this world.  She was telling me how someday she’ll use her heart and the talents and gifts that God has given her to glorify Him. She teaches me what it means to really praise and worship God. And my heart swells…

Noah is so full of  life. Everything  around him is thrown upside down because a battle that we may not be able to see is always raging. He is always involved in a sword fight or a light-saber battle of some sort. He will win the VICTORY! And he  does not give up (unless of course mom takes away the light-saber) and presses on. I guess some might say he gets that competetive edge from me. He teaches me what it means to persevere. And my heart swells…

Seth is growing like a weed. The changes from one day to the next amaze me as he learns to communicate and share his world with us. Every day is a new adventure. A day to be appreciated. An experience waiting to happen. A place waiting to be explored. Some might say that trouble finds him. I prefer to think that he just wants to live life to the fullest. Seth teaches me to soar. And my heart swells…

I’m thankful. Not just today, but every day that God blesses me with on this planet. And there really aren’t words to express how deeply thankful I am…

 

Leave a Reply

