My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Off on an adventure… December 1, 2007

Filed under: family,fun,life,marriage,travels — Rebekah Sanders @ 9:20 am

In our family, when we go off and do something new, we call it an adventure. It started because when Elijah was about 4 or so, going and doing new things struck panic is his little heart. So saying, “We’re going someplace we’ve never been before.” was not a good thing. So, we started going on adventures. Because heroes go on adventures. Because adventures are fun and conjur up images in their minds of Frodo’s trip to Mordor or Luke’s missions in space. Adventures are something to be experienced. And that’s exactly what we want for our kids, for life to be an adventure.

And let me tell you, they are MAD they are not going on this latest crazy adventure with Chip and I. We finally bought a new van. On eBay. In Texas. We fly out of Indy on Monday early afternoon to fly to Houston. My mom is coming to stay with the kids. We got a great deal on the tickets (I’m talking both of us flying for like $225). We will fly down on Monday and pick the van up on Tuesday morning. Then we’ll start the trip home. *IF* I can figure out how to post to my blog from my phone (I can’t get my phone to log into WordPress), I’m sure you’ll hear all the adventures along the way. If not, I’m sorry, but only my Facebook friends (feel free to add me – I like new friends) will be able to see because I can add a note there.

Why is this such an adventure? Because it’s the first time in our married lives that Chip and I have gone anywhere by ourselves that didn’t involve going to visit family or going to some sort of meeting. We went on our honeymoon, but even part of that required us going down to his parents house for a second wedding reception (not that I’m complaining). And by the time we got home from our honeymoon and settled in at new jobs, we found out that Elijah was on the way and well, we popped out even more kids since then. It’s hard to get away without them. We enjoy spending time with our kids so we like to take them places with us. When Seth is 18, Chip and I will still be in our late 40’s so we figure we have a lot of time left to enjoy together! But we’re looking forward to our adventure. Right now the only definite stop we have planned is in Memphis for barbeque.

 Looking forward to the journey!

 

One Response to “Off on an adventure…”

  1. Tammy Says:

    Hope all goes well w/your trip!!


Leave a Reply

