My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Adventures in dining… December 11, 2007

Filed under: food,travels — Rebekah Sanders @ 3:11 pm

*cracks knuckles* Definitely one of my favorite topics – FOOD!!!

Before boarding the plane in Indianapolis, we had lunch in the airport at Chik-fil-A. I’ve only eaten there twice since high school – both times in Indy. I think they need to put one in Decatur. YUM!

That night after landing in Houston and realizing the hotel didn’t have anything to offer for dinner, we went in search of food. NONE of the hotels nearby had a restaurant inside. It was really weird. We ended up in our room ordering Dominoes. Chip and I ate the whole pizza in less than 20 minutes I think! We were starving!

The next morning, we ate at the buffet at the hotel. Which we paid entirely too much for and was disgusting! Live and learn I guess.

We had lunch on Tuesday from the McDonald’s drive-thru. We just wanted something we could eat on the road. For dinner, we stopped at WhatABurger. Which I would liken to the McDonald’s of the south. They are EVERYWHERE!!! But so much better than McD’s. I couldn’t even finish my burger it was so big.

Wednesday morning we stopped at Ihop for breakfast. We were looking for a Shipley’s donuts (because those are everywhere too) but couldn’t find one. I love Ihop because it’s one of only a couple places that I can get boysenberry syrup. Mmmmm….

It was late when we ate breakfast, so we stopped at a Cracker Barrel in Vicksburg, MS for some chocolate cobbler for a snack. YUMMY!!!

But the real kicker, the thing that made me think that Jackson, MS is GREAT was when we were in search of something to eat. There wasn’t anything right by our hotel other than fast food, so we drove back down the highway towards Jackson from our hotel in Canton. That’s when I saw it – P.F. Changs!!!  It’s got to be my favorite place to eat. I had the Orange Peel chicken. (I’d get in the van and go right now if Chip came home and suggested driving to Indy for PF Changs). And I ate the WHOLE thing – rice included – with my chopsticks!  AND!!! This is huge – Chip WILLINGLY ate an onion!!! It was the green chivey part, but it was still an onion! That he knowingly put in his mouth! It was by far my favorite meal of the whole trip.

The next morning, we attempted to dine on the complimentary breakfast at the hotel, but it was gross. We ended up going through the drive-thru at McDonalds. I *love* their egg mcmuffins. 

For lunch, we stopped on Beale Street in Memphis. We ate at the Blues City Cafe. Chip had ribs and I had seafood gumbo. For the second time in two days, I wished my stomach was bigger because I wanted to eat forever. I told Chip it was a cacophony of flavors all bursting forth at the same moment to make a beautiful symphony in my mouth. Yes – it really was *that* good!

For dinner that night, we were in Nashville with Chip’s sister and at at Thompson Station. I had the Cajun shrimp salad. It was really good, but paled in comparison to the last couple meals I’d eaten. But they were a tough act to follow.

 

Leave a Reply

