My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Adventures in the airport… December 11, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rebekah Sanders @ 2:32 pm

Ok, so I don’t have the pictures on the computer yet. But I need to get this started or it’s never going to get done. I’m in a writing kind of mood this afternoon, so grab a cup of coffee, sit back and enjoy…

Last week Monday, Chip and I flew to Houston, Texas.  We had bought a van on eBay. Lots of people were skeptical about it all. We were confident. I’m been eBaying for so long, that there was never even a doubt that this would anything less than the ideal way to go.

We left early on Monday morning and our dear friend Kevin, who pastors another church here in our small town, drove us over to Indianapolis to the airport.  It’s the first time we’ve flown post-September 11th, so we weren’t sure what exactly to expect. Especially when the guy in line next to us was “flagged” by his airline for special inspection. YIKES!

But we boarded the plane without incident, sent some pics from our phone (which are over there —–>) to the kids before takeoff, and sat back while we waited to takeoff.

That’s when the *real* fun started! It wasn’t the turbulence that bothered me. We had plenty of that. What really got me was the takeoff and landing. I thought my ears were going to EXPLODE at one point. I told Chip that if we ever fly again, we’ll pay the extra money for a direct flight. I’m only going up and coming back down ONE TIME!

We got to Atlanta with no problem, got ourselves some coffee and waited an hour for the connecting flight. I found myself some DayQuil upon suggestion from my mom (she actually said Benedryl, but that makes my heart race and I figured that a heart attack at 3500 feet wasn’t a good idea), which greatly relieved the pressure in my head but didn’t really help the pain a whole lot.

I think the “scariest” thing that happened was when we were sitting on the plane waiting to pull away from the gate in Atlanta. The pilot came on and said that we were waiting for baggage from a connecting flight because they didn’t want someone to be without their luggage. YIKES! Thankfully our bag made it through all the way to Houston without any problems.

Would I fly again? Absolutely!

 

Leave a Reply

