My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Why I blog… December 12, 2007

Filed under: blog,entertainment,family,friends,fun,internet,life,marriage,news,profoundness,travels — Rebekah Sanders @ 10:55 am

Chip got a call for an interview the other day about his blog. He was a bit puzzled because he doesn’t blog very regularly (although he is now) and somehow they managed to find his blog and not mine. Doesn’t really matter to me, but he gave them my blog address and told them I was the one to talk to.

I’ve been blogging for almost 5 years now. I started shortly after Noah was born (unfortunately, I lost quite a bit when I changed blog servers from Blogger to Xanga many moons ago). I was blogging before before blogging was cool…

The big question for the article was “Why do you blog?” I blog because I like to write. I blog because it’s cathartic for me and much cheaper than therapy. With 4 kids, I need somewhere I can just let it all go. As a pastor’s wife, I need somewhere that I can just let it all out from time to time. As a wife, I just like a place where I can brag on my husband. And to show off my kids. To stay in touch with relatives far off. To be real.

That’s the thing about my blog that is different from most – it’s me. My whole theory on life is that life is too short to pretend that I’m something that I’m not. I’m who I am – and if you don’t like it, that’s ok. I don’t expect everyone to agree with me. I don’t agree with everyone else. And from time to time I make people mad with things I say on my blog. Because I’m not into legalism when it comes to my relationship with Jesus. And if there is anything that will make people mad, it’s questioning what they believe – especially if they don’t have an answer!

I guess I just try to live an authentic life. I want people to see Jesus in me. Not because I’m trying to sell them anything, but because my love for Him pores from my very being. I want them to see that marriage really can be GREAT and FUN. I want them to see that raising kids is work, but it’s the most rewarding job in the world. I want them to see that you can adapt to small town life even if your heart is screaming, “But I’m a big city girl!” I want them to see me for who I am. Because that’s all I am. With all my faults and screwups. With all my accomplishments and hard work.

I am who I am. And this is why I blog…

 

3 Responses to “Why I blog…”

  1. Sounds like a great reason to blog to me! I can relate as a mom and former worker in the church and former PK!
    Blessings

  2. Crystal Says:

    I’m with ya, sista. Those are the reasons I blog too. šŸ™‚ I guess that’s why I enjoy checking in with you here even thought we’ve never met.

  3. Jada Says:

    Ditto! I love reading your blog!!! I have to email you……something could be interesting, very, very interesting:)


Leave a Reply

