My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

A Christmas meme… December 13, 2007

Filed under: family,food,friends,fun,holidays,kids,life,meme — Rebekah Sanders @ 8:36 pm

I’ve gotten this via email from several people and decided I’d just blog it instead of sending out a bunch of emails.

So, here’s more than you ever wanted to know about me for Christmas…

1. Wrapping paper or gift bags?

Depends on the gift – usually wrapping. I like to be able to rip into a gift.

2. Real tree or artificial?

Artificial. We made the switch a few years ago when Seth was a baby and we had a new kitten. We bought a really cheap $15 tree from Walmart. Our theory was that way we weren’t spending any more than we would on a real tree and if we hated it we could just throw it out. We upgraded our fake tree this year with plans to upgrade again either after Christmas or next year depending on if we find a great one on sale or not. I love NOT having the mess.
3. When do you put up the tree?

Whenever the kids make me! Usually the day after Thanksgiving. Although this year, we didn’t get it decorated until the middle of December.

4. When do you take the tree down?

January 2nd-ish

6. Favorite gift received as a child?

A basketball.

7. Do you have a nativity scene?

Yes, but I really, really want the Willow Tree nativity set.

8. Hardest person to buy for?

Granny – Chip’s grandma. She refuses to give us any ideas and says she doesn’t want anything. I still have NO idea what we’ll get her this year.

9. Easiest person to buy for?

The kids are pretty easy to buy for since they want everything. Or Chip’s sister and husband because their tastes are fairly similar to our own.

10. Worst Christmas gift you ever received?

This awful wooden Jesus picture. If you’re reading this and not in ministry, just know that pastors don’t usually want a “Jesus” anything for their house. We’re just regular people who want regular stuff. And we really don’t want it if it doesn’t match the decor of our home.

11. Mail or email Christmas cards?

I hate sending cards. Love getting them! We usually mail out Christmas cards though. Got a great card this year from a friend (hi Suzanne!) that actually made me laugh so hard I did a little dance! 

12. Favorite Christmas Movie?

Elf, It’s A Wonderful Life, Meet me in St Louis

13. When do you start shopping for Christmas?

We usually don’t do any shopping until the week before Christmas. This year I’m ahead of the game as I’m done with Chip’s parents and the big gift for the kids and some smaller things for them as well.

14. Have you ever recycled a Christmas present?

Regift? ME? Yup…all the time.

15. Favorite thing to eat at Christmas?

My mom makes these fabulous homemade peanut butter cups. YUM-O!!! And I make a pretty mean Italian Christmas Eve dinner if I do say so myself. This year I think I’m going to make gnocchi to go along with the lasagna.

16. Clear lights or colored on the tree?

Clear and no flashing please!

17. Favorite Christmas song?

I love most of them – as long as the theology is correct. And please, no one bring up the song Christmas Shoes in front of my husband! I’m begging you!

18. Travel at Christmas or stay home?

We stay home. Chip’s family is all close for the most part and his sister is making the trip here this year. Not to mention his job usually keeps us home.

19. Can you name all of Santa’s reindeer?

Dasher, Dancer, Prancer, Vixen, Comet, Cupid, Donner,
Blitzen…and Rudolph.

20. Angel on the tree top or a star?

We have an angel, but I’d prefer a star.  But I’m still looking for the perfect fake tree. After I find the tree we’ll have for a while, then I’ll look for a new topper.

21. Open the presents Christmas Eve or morning?

Christmas Eve – which was weird for me at first because growing up we always did one on Christmas eve and the rest on Christmas morning. Chip’s family has always done them on Christmas eve. Which I like because then the kids aren’t getting me up at 6am!

22. Most annoying thing about this time of year?

The over-commercialization of the holiday. It really takes a conscious effort to make it truly an Advent season. A friend of ours is doing a series on the Advent and recently did a “man on the street” interview video in downtown Chicago. They asked what people loved most about this time of year, and while there was nothing wrong with the answers, the fact that Jesus was never even ONCE mentioned was really disheartening to me.

23. Do you decorate your tree in any specific theme?

Nope – I figure I’ll have time for a tree like that when my kids are older and out of the house. For now, it’s their tree and we decorate it with new ornaments they get each year.

24.  Do you dream of a White Christmas?

Only if the white is a white sandy beach somewhere!

25.  Have you ever been away from home for Christmas?

Guess it depends what you mean from away from home? The only year I ever felt truly “away” from home was the Christmas right after Chip and I were engaged and we were apart for the holiday. Otherwise, home is where the heart is and my heart is with my husband and kids. And we’re always together for the holidays.

 

One Response to “A Christmas meme…”

  1. Suzanne Says:

    Glad you liked the card. I’ve only sent out three of them!


Leave a Reply

