My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Swimming into the deep… January 2, 2008

Filed under: family,kids,life,profoundness — Rebekah Sanders @ 8:21 pm

Our year ended with a great accomplishment. Kait learned to swim…

While the water in the deep part of the pool was only 4’8″ and only came up to my shoulders, it was still well over her 8-year-old height. And she was hesitant and scared when I told her that I wanted her to swim the entire length of the pool. I knew she could go back and forth with no problems across the shallow end of the pool, so I decided to stretch her a little bit.  I knew that she could do it. I had confidence in her. And I knew that I would never leave her side as long as she was in over her head.

And so, with me by her side, even though she was skeptical, she put her trust in me and off we went. Swimming into the deep.  Unsure whether she could really make it or not, but confident that nothing bad would happen because I would be by her side.

How many of y’all can see where this is going already? I’m guessing many of you could tell me the lesson that became so abundantly clear to me that night in the deep.

Because there are times that I take a swim across the shallow end of the pool, but God is telling me that He wants me to swim into the deep. I’m afraid of the unknown. I’m afraid of failing. I’m afraid of getting in over my head. But I’m confident in my God. And I’m certain that He is never going to leave me. I’m certain that He won’t leave me to drown.

One of the most memorable speakers I’ve heard, the king of the one-liners, Mark Batterson of National Community Church in Washington, DC likes to say that we need to stop living life as if the goal were to arrive safely at death.  I love that! And I try to keep it in mind because I know that I tend to play it on the safe side. But God doesn’t ask us to stay on the safe side. If anything, if you’re living for God, you should be taking MORE risks. Because there is no safe place in the world to be than to be doing what God has told you to do. And for me, today, that’s swimming into the deep…

 

One Response to “Swimming into the deep…”

  1. I just read one of your comments on my blog and I hope you did not get the wrong idea. I really am not so down all the time.

    Also, we have not attended church for about two years. We have been coming out of that legalistic mind set. We have a TV and I even wear jeans! Make up too, sometimes LOL.

    I just believe that God is bigger than we think he is…and more compassionate too. I could not put that on people anymore. It has been hard because the UPCI is a very unforgiving organization in that way. They feel we are backslid and hell bound because we have a TV and I wear jeans. It has been hard as I had people I cared about there and now they will not even speak. I am shunned–thus I call myself “The Pentecostal Pariah”.

    Aw well! Guess what, we go to the swimming pool too! Heaven forbid! I love to swim and so do my kids. Your adventure sounds like fun!


Leave a Reply

