My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Somebody HELP!!! January 23, 2008

Filed under: blog,family,kids,life — Rebekah Sanders @ 4:47 pm

Does this happen in other houses? I’m sitting here minding my own business and playing Scrabulous on Facebook (where I just scored an 88pt word against my husband! Go me!). The rest of the family that are actually home are snuggled in the living room watching It Takes A Theif.

And that’s when we hear it…

“Somebody HELP ME!!!”

And just like it’s a normal occurence – because with 6 of us in the house, it is – someone jumps up and says, “I’m on it!” They race up the stairs, grab a new roll of toilet paper and then hurry back to the downstairs bathroom to help the person stranded.

Now the rule is supposed to be whoever uses the end of the toilet paper makes sure the roll gets replaced. The logical thing to do is check before you sit down – especially around here because the extra paper is kept in the UPSTAIRS bathroom. But at least once a week it seems someone ends up stranded.

Chip just asked me if I think that happens in other houses. I told him I had no idea, but it was definitely a blogworthy topic. So, is this a situation unique to our own household, or does this same thing afflict other homes as well?

 

3 Responses to “Somebody HELP!!!”

  1. Carrie Says:

    OH my, yes! My daughter was stranded this very evening, poor thing.

  2. Tammy Says:

    I find that in a house filled mainly with males, there is an appalling lack of responsibility in this area! Asking them to look before they sit down? Horrors! How could I even ask this? Isn’t it enough that they have to put the seat down when we’re done? Anyhow, I digress. Since I can’t rely on them to remember to do this, I do the only other thing I can…put extra paper in the downstairs bathroom too. 😉

  3. Jodi Says:

    We had this problem too. I now put a 24 pack of toilet paper in each bathroom. Even that doesn’t stop a kid from yelling for me though. LOL


Leave a Reply

