My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

What I’ve been up to… January 23, 2008

Filed under: blog,church,Nifty Stuff,technology — Rebekah Sanders @ 9:20 am

I’m working on a new website for the church. Our current website is fairly pathetic (I can say that – I designed it) and not very user friendly to update.

I’ve been going over the options and right now I think a blog format is going to be the best way to go for our small church. It’s easy to update, can have multiple contributors with their own usernames (which will be great for protecting against innocent mistakes) and is user friendly for the people in our community.

The biggest thing I’ve struggled with his hosting. Do I use a blog format that will host my blog for me or do I use a different web hosting choice and give myself a bit more freedom in what I can and cannot put on the website?

Right now, the new church website is being hosted by wordpress.com. I’m a HUGE fan of wordpress since I switched blog platforms. I have the option of exporting it as is to a wordpress.org (your heads would spin if I tried to explain the difference). I’d be able to do anything I wanted to with it then, however we’d have to pay.

Want to take a look at what I’m working on? The new website is nowhere near completed and I’m looking for a new picture to replace the  one on the top – but it will give you a general idea. The old one is as updated as it’s ever going to be.

Current Website

New Website

 

One Response to “What I’ve been up to…”

  1. Denise Says:

    I like the look of your new web site better… now put some info on there and keep me posted! 😉


Leave a Reply

