My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

A week in review… January 26, 2008

Filed under: entertainment,family,food,fun,kids,life,photos,television — Rebekah Sanders @ 12:56 pm

It’s been a long week. It’s been a productive week. And regardless of the fact that I spent a day sicker than I’ve been in over a year, it’s been a good week.

I’ve rediscovered the joy of cooking this week. A lot of it has to do with my kids and the love they’ve recently found in cooking. The different textures and flavors are suddenly something to be explored in food – instead of something to complain about. Maybe it’s because we’ve spent so much time watching the Food Network?

The younger two boys spent THREE nights at Chip’s parents this week with their cousin, Taet. Taet is exactly 2 months older than Noah and will be moving to Wyoming next week. The cousins are none too happy about it either. So they’ve been spending every moment they can together.

I decided that I didn’t like them being gone that long. I don’t mind when Chip and I go somewhere away for a few days. I miss them, but since we’re gone somewhere and busy, it’s not too hard. But being HOME this week with the kids home – that was rough. It was sooo quiet around here with just Elijah & Kait home. And things stayed so CLEAN! It was amazing!  I kept telling Chip that it just felt like a piece of me was missing without the boys home. I feel more complete when we can all be together. Wow – I’m turning into quite the sap!

I think the most fun thing that happened this week was Seth’s discovery of Food Network. He is constantly asking us to turn his “show on.” That used to mean something like Diego or Wonder Pets. Now we’ll ask him what he wants to watch and he’ll tell us he wants to watch “my cooking shows!” He’s as addicted as some people are to soap operas! LOL!

And because of this new love, he’s got a new game he plays called “cooking show.” He pulls out all of his dishes and play food and puts on quite the little demonstration for us. Last night, while I was in the kitchen making dinner, he was there with me for a while and then wandered off. I went in search of him and found him in his own kitchen in the office – making his own dinner on his own stove.

This morning – rather than cartoons, Seth and I watched numerous cooking shows while the other kids all went to basketball practice. When they got back, they pulled out the train set and made quite the track – that takes up almost the entire floor in the office.

It’s been a good week. And here are some pictures to prove it!

 

 

 

 

 

One Response to “A week in review…”

  1. Amy Says:

    Precious! We are Food Network junkies too. Cala (9) just brought home an Emeril cookbook for kids from her school library! She was excited to tell us about it! ha

    My own Seth has those same pajamas and was in here asking “who’s that with my pajamas?” lol


Leave a Reply

