My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Italian food… February 2, 2008

Filed under: family,food — Rebekah Sanders @ 8:17 pm

There is a running joke about the town that I grew up in. You were either Italian or related to someone who is by marriage. As a result of that, there are more Italian restaurants in Kenosha than you can eat at in a year of Sundays. I’m seriously considering counting in the phone book the next time we go home (which should be the end of April). And I’m not talking about places like Olive Garden or Pizza Hut. Chain restaurants don’t count.

As a result, I find it IMPOSSIBLE to find great Italian food when we go out to eat. Olive Garden can keep me satisfied between trips home, but Chip knows that every time we go to Kenosha, we WILL be eating Italian food at some point. Luigi’s is my personal choice – actually, it’s a family choice that started way before I was born.

And because it’s been more than a year since we’ve been “home” and because I’ve been CRAVING authentic Italian food, I decided to give it another go with the gnocchi tonight (which is a word that I’ve discovered people outside of Kenosha and Italians have no idea what it is and will look at you like you have three heads when you say it).

It’s a LONG process – it was 3hours from the time that I put my water on to boil the potatoes until we actually sat down to eat. But soooo worth every minute of preparation! Because when I put that first bite into my mouth, I melted. Oh. My. Gosh!!!! I love Italian food!

 

One Response to “Italian food…”

  1. Suzanne Says:

    Our families must be from different parts of Italy because this 1/2 Italian chick never heard of gnocci until she married a German guy!


Leave a Reply

