My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

It’s that time of year again… February 4, 2008

Filed under: church,holidays,life,profoundness — Rebekah Sanders @ 12:27 am

The Lenten season begins on Wednesday of this week. So weird that it starts so early this year! It’s kind of throwing me off! Usually, Easter falls right in the middle of birthday month for us. It will be nice to be able to focus on the Resurrection instead of trying to squeeze it in amist 4 birthdays this year (unless you count other family as well – then there are 12 between March 28th and May 2nd).

A lot of people – my husband included – really don’t understand the whole Lent thing with me. I’m not Catholic, but I find something intense in giving something up for the 40 days leading up to Easter. Knowing that God gave up His LIFE for me and choosing to focus on that with something of myself that I give up starts a pull in my heart like nothing else I’ve ever experienced. To give up something that hurts, even just a little, is NOTHING compared to what He gave up for me.

Chip started it all off with a great sermon on Substitutionary Atonement today. WOW! There were several people who teared up through the service today. What a powerful thing to think about as we lead into the Easter season – as we start that walk towards the Cross in these 40 days that lead up to Resurrection Sunday.

I’m still not sure what I’m going to give up. But it will be something that  will require some sacrifice on my behalf. I figure it’s the least I can do after all He gave up for me. I mean, He DIED for my sins. For ME! That just blows my mind…

 

Leave a Reply

