My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Moved to tears… February 12, 2008

Filed under: blog,friends,kids,life,profoundness — Rebekah Sanders @ 3:32 pm

I’m following closely the Uganda bloggers as they travel with Compassion International. This post by Anne Jackson (aka FlowerDust) moved me to tears. I’ll go today and spend $9 on a bag of coffee. A family in Uganda will go and spend the same amount this month to rent a small 6’x6′ shack. Kind of makes you stop and think, doesn’t it?

Stuff like this is why I want so badly to be out of debt. I want to help others. I want to be able to give more money away to those in need. Sponsoring a child in Uganda is just a small way that I could do something like that.

I would love to be able to go on a trip like this. To love on children. To tell them about Jesus. To bring a bit of sunshine into their lives. And I’m sure for them to shed a little on my own heart. But I have a feeling, I’d leave wondering how many of them I could bring home with me.

 

Leave a Reply

