My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

My kids crack me up… February 13, 2008

Filed under: family,fun,kids,life — Rebekah Sanders @ 10:58 am

Elijah loves animals. So much so that he is constantly watching Animal Planet and on the lookout for ways to help animals. We’re doing a unit study in reading right now on endangered animals. He was telling me about how orangutan’s are becoming an endangered because of man. “We’re destroying their natural habitat!” He was very energetic and bothered by it.

It led to a rather serious conversation between us about the dominion of man and how God gave the earth to MAN, not to animals. (Don’t worry – there is a punchline coming at the end). I explained to him that it is important to take care of the animals and to take care of the earth and that there is nothing wrong with those things. God gave us animals and the earth to care for, to be stewards of. But not at the cost of man. That it is more important for man to have a place to live, than for a forest to stand. I don’t think that we should go around cutting down every forest to build condos and houses, so please don’t hear what I’m not saying.

It actually got quite heated between us as we debated back and forth. Which we encourage because we want our kids to learn for themselves. And we were going back and forth over the issue of conservationism vs. enviromentalism.

Until Noah joined the conversation. He looked at us with those wide eyes of his and said…

“Well, I know one animal that isn’t in danger. The catfish.” Then he sat back, crossed his arm and serious as a heart attack said, “Unless of course they get caught and we eat them.”

Elijah and I both lost it. End of conversation!

 

Leave a Reply

