My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Total eclipse of the moon… February 20, 2008

Filed under: education,fun,internet,Nifty Stuff — Rebekah Sanders @ 10:24 am

Every couple of years, the sun, moon and earth all line up and the result is a total lunar eclipse as they shadow of the earth covers the moon in an eerie red shadow.  Apparently it can only happen when there is a full moon and you can go your entire life without ever seeing one.

TONIGHT there is a lunar eclipse. And I’m excited! I’ve seen it before and it will never be anything less than amazing to me. That God hung the sun and the moon and the earth in the sky to give us this wonderful experience just blows my mind.

You should be able to see the lunar eclipse anywhere from North America as long as the skies are clear where you live.  The eclipse will start at about 7:43. And I’ve got my carema ready!

All times below are CST and are taken directly from the NASA website:

  • 7:43pm – partial eclipse begins
  • 9:01pm – total eclipse begins
  • 9:26pm – mid-eclipse
  • 9:51pm – total eclipse ends
  • 11:09pm – partial eclipse ends

So, who else will be watching tonight?

 

One Response to “Total eclipse of the moon…”

  1. Suzanne Says:

    That was very cool. LOVED it!


Leave a Reply

