My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Oh Starbucks… February 28, 2008

Filed under: blog,coffee,food,kids — Rebekah Sanders @ 3:49 pm

This past week, Starbucks stores across the country closed their doors for three hours to retrain their baristas. Given some of the horrendous drinks that I’ve been served in their stores, it was definitely necessary. In the past year, I’ve switched from a triple grande non-fat, no-whip mocha to a simple grande brew with room simply because I was tired of them getting my drink wrong at our local Starbucks. I haven’t been back since the “retraining” but I *was* hopeful that maybe Starbucks with their newly implemented changes would bring back the coffee that I fell in love with all those years ago.

*Was* hopeful – until today. When they introduced their “new” drink – a HONEY latte. Now, I like honey as much as they next person on things like peanut butter toast or even mixed into a recipe, but even my kids know that honey doesn’t go with coffee! C’mon!

I think Starbucks would best serve their customers by going back to their basic menu. Put the basics back in the store for a good 6 months and let the baristas perfect those as they grow into the position. Then and only then should they start to reintroduce some of the newer drinks – pumpkin spice, cinnamon whatever it is they have at Christmas time, etc… Because right now, they seem to be grasping at straws as to what to do next and how to make coffee more… interesting?  Seems to me, instead of being fancy, they should just give the customer what they really want – a great cup of coffee in a 2nd living room experience. WITH FREE WI-FI!

 

Leave a Reply

