My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Happy Easter Sunday… March 23, 2008

Filed under: family,holidays,life — Rebekah Sanders @ 9:53 pm

I go back and forth on whether or not Easter should be something we should really dress up for and make a special day. Because the argument that EVERY Sunday – every day really – should be that important is a strong one. My faith in the Cross and Jesus paying my ransom is something that I celebrate in my heart and life every day.

However, Jesus didn’t die more than once. He only had to defeat death, Hell and the grave one time. And honestly, I see nothing wrong with choosing a special day to celebrate the greatest gift that I’ve ever recieved. Because as much as I celebrate it in my heart daily, it just seems something that should be made sacred with a day of it’s own. I go back and forth…

This morning started out great. At 4:45. I lay in bed for 20 minutes and just pondered what the disiples and followers of Jesus were thinking that Resurrection Sunday all those years ago. Because while we know how the story plays out, they did not. They walked with Jesus for years and failed to realize. My guess is that they fully intended to find his body in the tomb, even though He said He wouldn’t be there. They had prepared the spices and oils to prepare his body for burial. They carried it to the tomb. And yet he wasn’t there! The stone had rolled away and an angel asked them why did they seek the living among the dead? Can you imagine for a moment even being one of those women? Actually being witness to Christ’s resurrection? AMAZING!!!

So, I was out of bed by 5am and made coffee. We got ready and go the kids up for sunrise service. The service was great. There is just something special about being able to put the differences that separate denominations behind us and gather together with one voice to minister to a Living God.

After the service, we came home and let the kids find their baskets. They don’t get a lot. They each got one thing and a bit of candy. They played with their stuff (Seth got a Little People Easter set, Noah got a Star Wars Lego II game for gameboy, Kait got the movie Enchanted and Elijah got Legos of the Star Wars variety) while we waited for time to pass for our service to start.

Our service was AMAZING today! Absolutely AMAZING!!

After church, we went to Chip’s parents for lunch with Mom, Dad & Granny and a good family friend. Unfortunately, I started getting a migraine partway through this mornings service. We left after eating and pictures to come home and nap. Until 5pm.

We got up and watched some basketball and then watched Kait’s new movie. I love my little girl and there is nothing that I wouldn’t do for her, but wow! I really hope she doesn’t ask me to watch that movie with her again. Enchanted is a cute movie for a little girl, but so not my cup of tea. Or coffee. Or whatever…

We’ve tucked the kids into bed and Chip is studying for a math test on Tuesday. It’s been a great – long – day. I’ll have picture on a Foto Friday this week if not before.

 

Leave a Reply

