My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Almost live American Idol recap *March 25th*… March 25, 2008

Filed under: American Idol,entertainment,television — Rebekah Sanders @ 10:05 pm

And we’re down to 10. We were talking with friends last night and realize that this is the first year that we can’t pinpoint a person who doesn’t belong in the competition (ie – Sanjaya of last year). They can all sing, some lack the wow factor

 Wow – does Paula look like she’s ready for a dance recital or ice show. I think half the fun of the show is seeing what ridiculous outfit Paula will try to pick (ok – I’m distracted – Jason Castro seriously looks like he’s up there with no pants on. I’ll find a screen capture if I can).

Tonight’s theme – the year they were born. Could be interesting. Let do this…

 Ramiele Maluby – Hearts Alone – Is she supposed to be dressed like she’s in 1988 too? And WHAT is up with the high waisted pants/shorts/skirts with the girls this year. Seriously, Ramiele, give your mom back her shorts! Girl can sing and put her heart into this song, but she just didn’t quite get there. I’m not sure she was off, but the background singers were almost overpowering. For someone who was singing without much of a voice, I say she did a pretty good job. Definitely better than last week.

Jason Castro – Fragile – It’s tough to take on a Sting song, but he looks right at home on the stage behind his guitar.  All in all, I was just a bit bored though. He did it well, a bit boring. And I can see wrinkles in his pants, but I think that’s the only reason I can tell they are pants and not bear legs. I *will* find a screen capture somewhere for tomorrow nights post.

Syesha Mercado – If I Was Your Woman – The song has a lot of big notes and she’s hitting them all, but I”m thinking maybe it has too many. The big notes tend to lose their punch when you sing too many of them. A great performance from a great singer, but not what I’d really call entertainment. I’m guessing it was one of those performances that would be great live, but coming across the television, I’m just not sure.

Chikezie – If Only For One Night – LOVE his outfit! It started out rough for me and really I think he could have picked a better song for his voice. Probably my least favorite performace from him. There was absolutely no personality that came across in that song. I was just bored. Again. Which seems to be the new theme of this season so far.

Brooke White – Every Breath You Take – *oops* She messed up right there for a second, but part of me wonders if maybe she did it on purpose to show the world that she’s not perfect. Because the rest of the song was flawless. And she’s just so beautiful. (Chip says she reminded him of Amy Grant. Thoughts, Suzanne?) I must say it’s nice to see her back behind an instrument instead of flailing herself all over the stage.

Michael Johns – We Will Rock You/We Are The Champions – Definitely a performance that we’ll remember and not lacking with the wow factor. I didn’t love it as much as the judges, but it was ok and definitely his best performance so far. I’m still waiting for him to really blow it out though and make a song his own. 

Carly Smithson – Total Eclipse Of The Heart – I loved this song from her. The end note was a little weird, but I think it was because it was so different from the norm. But it worked. I really think she’ll be fine this week.

David Archuletta – You’re The One – I don’t think I’ve ever heard this song before, and honestly, I hope I never have to hear it again. Seriously, hate this song. He’s singing it well, but please make him stop singing THIS song! The depth of his voice and the talent in his young self is just amazing. Absolutely amazing!

Kristy Lee Cook – God Bless The USA – Kind of a strange contrast following David’s anti-war song, eh? It was ok for her, a bit pitchy, but I still say that Nashville Star was more the competition for her. Chip’s waiting for Simon to call her song choice indulgent, but it doesn’t happen. It might be enough to keep her in the competition this week.

David Cook – Billy Jean – I’m just not sure why this guy is in the competition either and how he hasn’t been discovered before now. He could be selling out stadiums instead of boosting ratings for Fox. What he did with that song, actually made it enjoyable. Best performance of the night. Brilliant!

And there you have it – America’s top 10 idols in review…

Who do I think will be in the bottom three? Ramiele, Syesha, Chikezie (or maybe KLC)

Who should go home? Ramiele

Who will go home? Ramiele

 

4 Responses to “Almost live American Idol recap *March 25th*…”

  1. Brian Says:

    David Cook did a good job but he took his arrangement from Chris Cornell’s (Soundgarden,Audioslave) latest solo album. He deserves no credit for an original arrangement.

  2. Malia Says:

    Please please please point out that David Cook did NOT create that version of Billie Jean. As Ryan Seacrest pointed out in his introduction, it is Chris Cornell’s (Soundgarden/Audioslave) version. David didn’t change anything about Chris’ version. He sang it beautifully, but I think people are giving David more credit than he’s due because they think he created the new arrangement. Not so.

  3. Chip Says:

    I thought his version was a little dull besides the fact that he iis continually ripping off other bands arrangements.

  4. Suzanne Says:

    Yeah…I think Brooke’s a lil Amy! I *really* like Brooke and that’s probably why!

    Michael Johns and Jason Castro need to go home soon. They annoy me.


Leave a Reply

