My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Weekend linkage… April 5, 2008

Filed under: blog,entertainment,family,fun,internet,life,Nifty Stuff,technology — Rebekah Sanders @ 3:46 pm

So, I’m sitting here today wandering my way around Facebook. It’s too nice outside and I’ve got a fierce case of spring fever and do not want to work. I figure I can work when the sun goes down and it gets cold again. Anyhoo, I’m wandering around the new “people you may know” feature on Facebook (which is really cool when two people you know don’t know each other know the same people) and did a search through my Gmail contact list. And found MY MOM! Which was just insanely weird to me. Because my mom was among the last people I expected to find on Facebook.

Why was she the last person I expected to find? Because she’s usually the one calling me asking me what’s new on the web and this is one I didn’t tell her about. She found it on her own! I’m impressed! Anyway, so I thought I’d share a few of the websites that I use to make my life a little easier online…

Facebook – it’s THE social networking. It’s the only one I use anymore. I can easily keep in touch with anyone I know on it and it’s easy to use. So easy even my mom can use it. And trust me (no offense mom), if my mom can figure it out, anyone can.

Twitter – follow your friends and get up to the minute updates on what’s going on in their lives. Or at least up to the update info. It’s a lot like the “Your Name is…” fill in the blank thing on facebook. And you can import it into facebook so everytime you twitter it updates your facebook too. Go sign up for an account and follow me!

Bloglines – when you’re as big of a blogaholic as I am, you have to have somewhere to keep all your blog reads in one place. That’s what bloglines does. Imports the RSS feed from the blogs onto one site. So instead of visiting 50 blogs, you visit one place and read them all there. And it takes out all of the backgrounds and music and such so it doesn’t slow your computer down. If you’re not using bloglines, you should be.

Delicious – It’s an online place to keep all of your favorites. A lot like your favorites dropdown menu on Internet Explorer. Only it’s online so if something happens to your computer or you find yourself on vacation and using someone else’s computer, you still have access to all your favorites.

Gmail – I’ve used tons of different email platforms over the years and Google’s is far superior to them all as far as I’m concerned. I’ve never had a problem with it. And I’m sure that I’m not tapping it’s full potential. Someday I’ll have the time to really look into it. And it’s compatible with my 2.0 on my phone, so I can check my email from my phone when I’m on vacation or on the road.

Google – do people really still use other search engines?

WordPress.com – the free blog software from WordPress is by far the best FREE platform I’ve found. And I’ve used them all. I’m still learning a lot of stuff, but it does everything that I want it to and if I ever decide that I *must* have things like ads on my blog, I can upgrade to a paid account (.net) or Typepad easily by their export feature. But that won’t happen until I buy my own domain name because I don’t want to change domains on y’all too many more times.

So, those are the big 6 that I use – the ones that make my favorites list on my phone – the ones I can’t live without. What are your “must haves” for your online experiences?

 

2 Responses to “Weekend linkage…”

  1. Suzanne Says:

    The funny thing is that Google (and all of its services) hasn’t been working for me for two days. Are you having a Google problem?

    *walks away humming Swing Low Sweet Chariot*

  2. SufficientGrace Says:

    hmmm… I’m on facebook too… guess I don’t have your email, or we’d be “friends” by now. lol… 😉


Leave a Reply

