My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Almost live American Idol recap (April 8th)… April 8, 2008

Filed under: American Idol,entertainment,fun,life,music,television — Rebekah Sanders @ 10:50 pm

I’m apologizing up front for what might be some grogginess or for any incoherent statements that make it into my blog. I’m migraining due to storms, but still here nonetheless.  Earlier tonight, I was talking about a small group that we joined today that was for kids with small parents. What I really meant was it was a group for parents with small kids. So, this could be interesting. Maybe even more interesting than American Idol. Which is weird for me, because apparently over the past week, KLC has grown on me a bit and I have no clear frontrunner to send home this week after the departure of Ramiele last week. But onto the show…

And tonight’s theme is inspirational songs and I’m already assuming that David A. will do some sort of anti-war protest song.  Brooke will sing some flowery song that tugs on hear strings and Jason Castro will do that weird, smiling, eye-twitching thing he does. And of course Ryan kicks it all off with a plug for Idol Gives Back – which happens tomorrow night. Or you can go to Compassion International right now and make a difference right now!

Michael Johns – Dream On – And right off the bat, I’m thinking he should have put the cravat away after last week and that his vest looks ridiculous. And I wasn’t expecting to hear an Aerosmith song – especially out of him – on this week especially. But he’s no Steven Tyler. He did an ok job, but the end was pitchy and it just didn’t fit him. Randy agrees with me, Paula babbles and loves it (because she loves everyone), and Simon sums it up by saying it was “an impersonation of a rock star” and should stick with the bluesy stuff he did last week. Rock on, Simon.

Syesha Mercado – I Believe – I don’t like this song when Fantasia sings it and I’m already doubting I’ll like her version. But she’s doing a great job of making me like this song. She got a little pitchy right before hitting the HUGE note at the end – but it was pretty good. She’s just lacking a little in the charisma department. Chip says someone should hire her as a background singer. I’m just not sure she’s got star quality though. She sings well, but there was no “big wave of emotion” like Simon said.

Jason Castro – Somewhere Over The Rainbow – And he breaks out the ukelele tonight! He’s got an original sound (and I hate it when I agree with Paula) and did a great job tonight. Now if he could just stop doing that weird thing with his eye when he goes up for the high notes. I wonder if maybe I dont’ notice things like that more than most people though because my husband is up in front of a crowd each week and I catch things like that for him.

Kristy Lee Cook – Anyway – And for the first time, I know why she’s in this competition. I’m a huge Martina McBride fan and she did a GREAT job with that song. Her best performance in this competition EVER. I believed her as a performer instead of just a singer this week.

David Cook – Innocent – I can see how this song would fit into a concert, but I’m just not feeling it tonight. Maybe it’s because I don’t agree with the “theology” behind the whole “we are innocent” thing, maybe it’s because I’ve never heard that song before so I have no comparison, but this was the worst week for him. But it was still a great performance. Throw that song into the middle of a concert and it would work, but it just doesn’t stand alone. He can, and has done better.

Carly Smithson – The Show Must Go On – I just don’t know. (I do know I’m tired of hearing Randy say “pitchy” for every single performance). It was all a bit disconnected and weird. Her look is better this week – but I think only because it matches the song? It was just a little weird for me. I think she got a little over-confident in her choice song. And at this point in the competition, song choice is everything.

David Archuletta – Angels – And he’s back behind the piano this week, which is an excellent choice on inspiration week. But I just CANNOT get past the HORRID theology in this song. And he sang about being old and gray? He’s SEVENTEEN!!! He sang it well, but I just hated it. I just can’t stand music when the lyrics make no sense at all. But he sang it well and I think America as a whole will love it.

(*warning – rant ahead* Did y’all see the SIX year old – I’m guessing, but she looks younger than my 8 year old – sitting next to her DAD holding up a sign with David A’s picture that said, “Lick those lips!” No way! No how! That little girl should *not* be holding up a sign like that! *end rant*)

Brooke White – You’ve Got A Friend – She’s doing a great job, but she should really be behind the piano for this song. She just looks so much  more natural behind an instrument. I think I can see her “white knuckles” on that microphone she’s gripping it so hard. It’s like she doesn’t know what else to do with her hands. She sang it well. It’s one of those songs that everyone knows and she did it well. I could totally hear that song on a lullaby mix.

Bottom three?: Michael Johns, Syesha Mercado, Carly Smithson

Should go home?: Syesha Mercado or Carly Smithson

Will go home?: Syesha Mercado

 

5 Responses to “Almost live American Idol recap (April 8th)…”

  1. […] All about handbags blog wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt I’m apologizing up front for what might be some grogginess or for any incoherent statements that make it into my blog. I’m migraining due to storms, but still here nonetheless.  Earlier tonight, I was talking about a small group that we joined today that was for kids with small parents. What I really meant was it was a group for parents with small kids. So, this could be interesting. Maybe even more interesting than American Idol. Which is weird for me, because apparently over the past week, K […]

  2. Summer Says:

    I’m changing the subject to be the first to wish you a happy birthday! Hope it’s fantastic. (Yes…I already have a seat reserved on the couch for tomorrow night’s BRAND NEW episode of The Office…Wahoo!)

  3. Headless Mom Says:

    I wish you were in our congregation to tell me what I should do or not do while we are in worship. All my husband says is sing louder, while maybe true, doesn’t tell me if I have an eye twitch, or whatever. This from the man who can’t clap and sing at the same time. *sigh*

    Agree on Archie.

    Happy Birthday!

  4. Headless Mom Says:

    Can you send me your e-mail to answer your questions? I can’t seem to find it.

    I may have to video, like you said…

    Thanks!

  5. Nice recap – especially digging the part about visiting the Compassion website (now) to sponsor a child in need. One-time giving (such as IGB) is an awesome thing, but an ongoing one-on-one relationship with a child is even awesomer (don’t you love the english language).

    God bless. cd

    (*Would you please add Jesus + Compassion to your blog roll)


Leave a Reply

