My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

American Idol results (April 30)… April 30, 2008

Filed under: American Idol,entertainment,fun,life,music,television — Rebekah Sanders @ 11:05 pm

I can’t believe these results shows are STILL an hour long even with just 5 contestants left. The PERFORMANCE show is only an hour. Certainly they could get the results show down to only 30 minutes? Or maybe just commercial length during another good show. But wait, this is FOX…

Neil Diamond, Natasha Bedingfield and viewer questions. Honestly, I could do without ALL of it. And I can REALLY, REALLY do without the Top 5 Tribute to Neil Diamond.

And WHAT is up with Jason Castro’s voice? It didn’t even sound like him singing there at the beginning. I had to actually look up and make sure it was him. Archie rocks it out the best he can as he talks about being a rosy child. And David Cook comes out and makes us all play it now and then we go into Brooke going all Very-Merry-Brady with Syesha. Can you tell I really, really hate these group numbers? It’s all a bit Partridge family with this group thing. One rock star and a bunch of tag-a-longs.

Ryan wastes time in the audience with Constantine and Gina Glockson. Really.Don’t.Care.

We look back at last night and I’m going to change up my opinion. I think Syesha or Brooke will go home tonight.

Ryan assures us that they all love Paula and the rumors are not true. Whatever that might be.

Jason is out first and he’s got to be nervous tonight. But he’s safe tonight. And I’m shocked.

David Arculetta is out next. He’s starting to do some weird thing with his face when he sings. I think he’s trying to look angry? It doesn’t work for him. He needs to start smiling more again. But he’s safe for another week. And I can hear the teeny-boppers still squeeling.

We come back from commercial for another commercial? What on earth? I’m not going to watch “So You Think You Can Dance?” I know I can’t dance and I don’t need to go make a fool of myself on television to find out. And the guy dancing in his whitie-tighties is the stuff nightmares are made of. American Idol – there are CHILDREN who watch this show! GIVE US ALL A BREAK ALREADY!!!

And then they have to show us a CUP?! design??? OH MY GOSH!!!

David Cook is out next and I’m thinking they’ll try to “trick” us into thinking he’s in the bottom two when really he’ll be safe and they’ll call the last two out for the bottom two. Because he was clearly the ONLY star on the show last night. And I’m right, because he is indeed safe for another week.

So they bring out the losers I mean bottom two. My guess is we’ll hear BOTH of them sing one last time. They remind us how Syesha stunk it up and then moves on to Brooke and reminds us that she does well singing karaoke with animated creatures. Syesha says song choices are tough and this isn’t Miss America (thanks to my husband for putting it into words for me). Brooke says she’s finally just at a place where she’s wants to have fun doing this again and hopefully she didn’t make that decision a little too late.

Commercials are over and they are ALL on the sofa – I think Ryan wishes he could sing – to listen to Natasha Bedingfield sing. I don’t know who she is. Apparently she’s really popular across the pond. I’m not all that impressed, but I don’t hate it. That’s not going to keep me from fast forwarding through it though. Ryan asks for her opinion on first auditions and such and she really doesn’t have much to say because well, she never had to compete to get a contract. She was just discovered. Then she sits down and kisses Archie on the cheek and he turns about 8 shades of red and purple and then she agrees to go to prom with him.

Now we go to questions becuase we have to waste even more time. Some little boy wants to know why Paula always give contestants a break and she says it’s because it’s a hard-knock life. A girl with another question for Paula and she wants to know if Paula will be doing another video with Randy. Paula says it’s a go as soon as Randy turns into an animated dawg. Someone’s mom wants to know which was more memorable – his kiss with Paula or his kiss with her when he was 9. Thankfully it’s someone that he really does know. And he wants to know if she’s still a hottie. And we’ve all just met Simon’s first crush.

And THANK YOU RYAN for reminding kids that 9 years old is too young to be kissing!

I skipped the Ford commercial because I don’t care. Neil Diamond is next and doing a new song from his new album. The song is Pretty Amazing Grace. I can’t tell if he’s talking about God’s grace or a pretty girl named Grace. I guess like all good love songs, it works both ways. Pretty amazing, eh? (Sorry, I just couldn’t help myself). I am a little disappointed that he went with more of a Johnny Cash look instead of a flashy, sparkly shirt.

And we’re running short on time, so I’m guessing now that we’ll only get to hear the person voted off tonight sing. Which is fine by me. Because really, if they aren’t voted off but were in the bottom two, they probably shouldn’t sing the song that landed them there again. Ever.

Syesha and Brooke are called back to the center of the stage and BROOKE is going home. It’s kind of sad because the second song she did was the best she’d done in WEEKS. Apparently it wasn’t enough to overshadow the spaz-y first performance.  I really expect her to cut a CCM a la Amy Grant type record once she’s done with the tour. I’ve heard some great stories about her and I she really seems like a genuine person who lives out her faith. I’m sad to see her go.

And she goes out giving me goosebumps even though she’s barely making it through. We’ll see Brooke again, oh yes we will…

 

2 Responses to “American Idol results (April 30)…”

  1. mamapeter Says:

    LOVE reading your synopsis of the show this week! I did not see the show as I had a long evening elsewhere, and only caught the last bit of results show. After reading your blog, I feel like I did see it! You write well, and I loved your comment about Diamond’s song. I rarely miss Idol, enjoy watching young people with talent. Anyway, thanks for your interesting post.

  2. imgladyouasked Says:

    I’m still trying to figure out how Jason keeps making it through.


Leave a Reply

