My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Almost live American Idol (May 6th)… May 6, 2008

Filed under: American Idol,entertainment,fun,life,music,television — Rebekah Sanders @ 10:09 pm

The final four go at it tonight on ROCK night! Ryan just told me that I *must* vote, but honestly the polls are going to be closed for me before I’m done watching. Really, if Idol wanted lots and lots of votes, they’d figure out a way to only allow one vote per phone number but keeping the lines open longer. Because of the wonders of the DVR, I’m automatically disqualified from voting because I’m not watching live. I can’t fast forward through commercials or Ryan’s time-wastingness either.

I’d really like to go to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. But of all the nights on Idol so far, this is the one that scares me most. I just don’t know that I can see anyone but David Cook doing a decent job.

ROUND 1 – *ding*ding*ding*ding*

David Cook – Hungry Like The Wolf by Duran Duran – I expected it to be a great performance and it was. I didn’t hear anything original, but it was good. It fit his voice really well, but it was safe. We’ve come to expect great things from him and this was just little boring from David Cook.

Syesha Mercado – Proud Mary by Tina Turner – It’s a stupid choice. Everyone does this song. She picked the ONE diva rock star. When is this girl going to learn? And she’s going to copy the choreography too? She’s singing it ok if you can actually concentrate on the singing. It’s just unbelievable. Unbelievably bad. I’m sitting here shaking my head. (Chip says, “Rock and Roll – The Musical”). It definitely showed her personality and she had fun with it, but wow! Just wow! And not in a good way.

Jason Castro – I Shot The Sherrif by Bob Marley – He’s still doing that weird thing with his face. Is no one that helps him put together his performances actually watching him sing? It’s completely distracting to me. In a concert it wouldn’t be a real problem because unless someone gives me tickets I’m not going to be close enough to see his face anyway. I didn’t think it was as bad as the judges. I just don’t think the judges can figure out how he’s still in the contest because Castro is not the type of music they would choose to listen to voluntarily. It was better than I thought it was going to be.

David Archuletta – Stand By Me by Ben E. King – I’m glad he found a song that he could actually sing. Because I was nervous for little Archie. It’s all a little high school variety show, but he’s still in high school so I won’t hold it against him. It’s not nearly the wreck the last two were. And that little touch at the end was great! I actually liked him *almost* as much as David Cook. And it makes me want to break out a classic movie!

And we’re back from commercial and the bell is ringing…

ROUND TWO!!!

David Cook – Baba O’Reilly by The Who – And this type of thing is why we love him. This is what we’ve come to expect and I wish just let him sing the whole song instead of letting Syesha or Jason sing. LOVED it!

Syesha Mercado – A Change Is Going To Come by Sam Cook – I cannot believe that she just compared her being in the Top 4 with the Civil Rights Moment. But her dress is AMAZING!!! And this song suits her well. But she’s pushing it a little bit with her voice. She just tries too hard. I think her fans are going to really enjoy it. And at least *this* song is worthy of some votes.

Jason Castro – Mr Tamborine Man by Bob Dillon – He did NOT just forget the words!!! (Chip says maybe he’s trying to *be* Bob Dillion so we just couldn’t understand the words! ROFL). It’s just too late in the competition to do that kind of thing! If he had these kind of performances in Hollywood week, he’d have been sent home. Do not pass go. Do not collect $200. Do *not* vote for Jason this week! That was rough in every area!

David Archuletta – Love Me Tender by Elvis Presley – He’s GOT to open his eyes all the way when he sings! It’s driving me insane! Maybe the boy needs glasses? He always looks so squinty eyed. But he did a GREAT job with song choices this week. The boy doesn’t have an ounce of rock and roll in him, so I was wondering how he’d do. But he took two “rock” (and I use that term very loosely with these songs) and made them his own. He melted the hearts of all the little Archuletta fans. For the first time, even though I’m *not* a fan, I’d have to say he was definitely the best of the night. Not that I want to listen to him sing those songs again since I’m not a fan of that kind of music.

Best of the night – Overall, it was David Archultta.  Best single performance of the night belonged to David Cook with Baba O’Reilly.

Bottom two – Syesha Mercado and Jason Castro.

Should go home – Jason Castro

Will go home – Not sure, but it won’t be one of the Davids.

 

4 Responses to “Almost live American Idol (May 6th)…”

  1. Martha Jane Says:

    Completely agree about Syesha and that crazy dancing….
    Great post!!

  2. Jen Says:

    I have the same problem with the DVR and voting. I usually vote for Jason, but tonight was so bad that it really didn’t matter that I didn’t have time to vote. Ugh!

    David A.’s eyes are distracting. Why can’t he keep them open?

  3. […] Almost live American Idol (May 6th)…5 hours ago by mymundanemusings Syesha Mercado – A Change Is Going To Come by Sam Cook – I cannot believe that she just compared her being in the Top 4 with the Civil Rights Moment. But her dress is AMAZING!!! And this song suits her well. …My Mundane Musings – https://mymundanemusings.wordpress.com […]

  4. Sherry Says:

    We say farewell to Jason Castro. Buh Bye…. 🙂
    http://andthesearethedaysofourlives.blogspot.com/


Leave a Reply

