My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

My littlest mower… May 10, 2008

Filed under: life — Rebekah Sanders @ 1:20 pm

My yard is full of mowers. Chip and his dad are both out there. Elijah is heading out the door and I just put “gas” into Seth’s mower. He got a belated birthday card yesterday. I really wasn’t sure what to get him until I saw the mower. When I showed it to him, his eyes about popped out of his head. I don’t think he even knew it blew bubbles until I put them in there this morning and we got it going. He’s been running back and forth in the yard all morning just mowing and mowing some more. He feels like such a big kid out there helping his dad.

And now that they are mostly done, I can take my trusty laptop out on the porch for a while. I woke up this morning and it just felt like a wonderful spring day outside. Unfortunately, it also meant that everyone and their brother was outside mowing and since I’m allergic to grass it meant that I had to sit inside most of the morning. When I did finally emerge from the house – laptop in hand – Noah asked me if the laptop was my life. I told him that no, the laptop was not my life, but it did help me keep in touch with the people who are important in my life. He said, “I know why. Because they are all bloggers too.” Smart kid! And when I told him he was such a very insightful little guy, he just looked at me and said, “Are you going to twitter about it?” ROFL! I love this kid of mine!

And now we’re off to do some more shopping. I told my kids all I want for mother’s day is for them to let me shop in peace and try and have a good time. I think the older two kids are going to bring a notebook with them to carry so they can work on their list of 100 things they want to do in their lifetime. They are inspired by the list I started the other day. Which is great – if I can inspire them to take a risk in life and try something new, then I feel like I’m doing my job as a mom. 

 

Leave a Reply

