My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

3 ballgames and a funeral… May 17, 2008

Filed under: family,kids,life — Rebekah Sanders @ 9:21 pm

It’s been a long week. A long week that all culminates this weekend. This morning, we had THREE ballgames. THREE! We had to leave early from Elijah’s game because Chip had to do a funeral.  His parents came halfway through Elijah’s game so we could go straight from the ballpark to the funeral.

Funerals are a funny thing. Depending on the person, they can be either or a morbid or a joyous occasion. Today, we buried the father of one of our church members. He had six kids. Nineteen grandchildren. Twenty-five great grandchildren. And one great-great grandchild. He was married for 52 years to his wife. He was a patriach. A man who left behind a legacy. A man who declined in health and in the end was ready to meet his Jesus. I didn’t know him. Chip’s position allows me the rare opportunity to just sit back and observe in some situations. And today, I observed that at the end of my life, I want nothing more than to have left behind a loving family who love one another and care for others. I want my children to be able to stand at the end and say that I lived a long life and loved Jesus. Oh yes I do.

I should have pictures sometime from the ballgames today. They need to be uploaded first and I’m not sure when I’ll get that chance. Tomorrow is another insane day. We have missionaries with us in the morning service and then baccalaureate at our church tomorrow night. Monday we leave for three days of district counsel – which has the potential to be rather interesting with so very many changes being made this year. I’m just looking forward to being able to sleep!

 

Leave a Reply

