My Mundane Musings

Growing up I longed for the fast paced life of big city life and corporate America. Now I’m a stay at home mom of 4 in a small rural community! And I wouldn’t have it any other way! (At least for now).

Day 61 of 100 days of blogging… May 31, 2008

Filed under: family,life — Rebekah Sanders @ 10:20 am

I normally blog anyway, but I’m finding that this *having* to blog every day is for the birds! There have been more times than I can count that it’s been 11:30 at night and I’ve fired up the computer to blog to post something. anything.

Our church has a new food pantry. It’s open for the second time ever this morning. It’s only open on the last Saturday of the month from 10am – 1pm (or by appointment other times of the month). Last month, they served 5 families. Last week, I predicted that with gas prices going over $4 a gallon, things were going to be a lot busier. I was right. The traffic has been insane this morning and it’s not people taking advantage. When you live in a town where the closest Walmart is 15 miles away and you have to drive EVERYWHERE, you really learn to appreciate the driving you have to do. $4 gas has everyone feeling the crunch. As the legislators in Springfield work today to balance the budget, I’m certainly hoping that their is some kind of tax break for the gas tax worked into that plan. Illinois has the 6th highest gas tax in the nation and we are really feeling it in central Illinois.

So, today I’m thankful. Thankful that God has provided time and again for my family.

 

Leave a Reply

